Environment pop-in bug/ draw distance

Brownny21Brownny21 USAMembers Join Date: 2021-04-21 Member: 269357Posts: 6 Fully active user
Hey all! I recently switched from playing Subnautica on my PS4 to playing it on PC simply because I wanted to use mods to make this fantastic game more unique to me. It played wonderfully on my PS4, but it has a draw distance/object pop-in bug on PC that breaks my immersion completely.

When swimming, piloting a seaglide, seamoth, etc the environment around me is not loaded properly. Grass, flowers, creatures, wreckage, and even the rocks/mountains dont form completely, unless I am sitting directly on top of them, only then will they load. As soon as I move away from an area it will start to "undecorate" itself if that makes sense. I hate seeing objects around me pop-in constantly, especially since this game is so fun and pretty.

I also tried asking about this in the official discord, but didn't receive any advice, but I did send it to the bug report bot there anyway. I also sent a bug report directly from the game while I was playing it yesterday.

My PC has intel core i7 cpu, nvidia 8gb 2060 super gpu, and 16gb of ram so the game should be running pretty well.

I tried these fixes here:
-Removing mods
-Fresh reinstall (3x)
-Verified game files
-In-game F1 and F3 fixes

And these fixes here:
https://unknownworlds.com/subnautica/missing-terrain-no-world-solution/
https://steamcommunity.com/app/264710/discussions/0/1700542332330990195/?l=danish
https://www.reddit.com/r/subnautica/comments/8li7kv/is_there_any_way_to_reduce_pop_in/
https://steamcommunity.com/app/264710/discussions/0/1693785669845485600/

om950km8dko4.png
bs6bmm61esxc.png
fd9ujs807pai.png

Comments

  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USAMembers, Forum Moderators, Forum staff Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Posts: 837 mod
    edited April 27
    If you already have a Solid State Drive, my next suggestion is to try the performance booster mod. Test a few different settings in the mod, especially core affinity and view distance higher/lower.
    Subnautica stuff:
    Official Subnautica discord chat: https://discord.gg/subnautica
    For updates on Console progress for both Subnautica and Below Zero, check the favro page, here.
    How to clear your Cache, by 0x6A7232.
    How to use console commands.
    Stuck, and just want to most recent base/Cyclops? Use "Warpme" command. Want to get out of the ceiling? Press F1 and note your camera postion. First number is North/South, second number is up/down, and third is East/West. Reduce the 2nd number by 10, then use "warp x y z" (where x, y, and z are the position you want to be).
  • Brownny21Brownny21 USAMembers Join Date: 2021-04-21 Member: 269357Posts: 6 Fully active user
    I tried that 2 days ago. I have the view distance all the way up
  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USAMembers, Forum Moderators, Forum staff Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Posts: 837 mod
    Does reducing view distance help? Core affinity? Also, are you using hard drive or solid state drive?
    Subnautica stuff:
    Official Subnautica discord chat: https://discord.gg/subnautica
    For updates on Console progress for both Subnautica and Below Zero, check the favro page, here.
    How to clear your Cache, by 0x6A7232.
    How to use console commands.
    Stuck, and just want to most recent base/Cyclops? Use "Warpme" command. Want to get out of the ceiling? Press F1 and note your camera postion. First number is North/South, second number is up/down, and third is East/West. Reduce the 2nd number by 10, then use "warp x y z" (where x, y, and z are the position you want to be).
  • dan123123dan123123 noMembers Join Date: 2021-04-30 Member: 269595Posts: 1 Freshly registered user
    Can someone help me. When I launch subnautica a transparent screen with a cursor pops up then the game crashes without any crash log or anything.
  • Brownny21Brownny21 USAMembers Join Date: 2021-04-21 Member: 269357Posts: 6 Fully active user
    narfblat wrote: »
    Does reducing view distance help? Core affinity? Also, are you using hard drive or solid state drive?

    Using a solid state drive and using all cores the game says. Turning the draw distance makes what little bit of flora that I can see just disappear
  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USAMembers, Forum Moderators, Forum staff Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Posts: 837 mod
    The mod gives you an option to only use 4 cores, which may be better for Subnautica. Essentially, the game spends more time splitting the tasks than is saved by the extra cores.
    Subnautica stuff:
    Official Subnautica discord chat: https://discord.gg/subnautica
    For updates on Console progress for both Subnautica and Below Zero, check the favro page, here.
    How to clear your Cache, by 0x6A7232.
    How to use console commands.
    Stuck, and just want to most recent base/Cyclops? Use "Warpme" command. Want to get out of the ceiling? Press F1 and note your camera postion. First number is North/South, second number is up/down, and third is East/West. Reduce the 2nd number by 10, then use "warp x y z" (where x, y, and z are the position you want to be).
Sign In or Register to comment.