Necessity of building a Cyclops

GlassDeviantGlassDeviant Terra Join Date: 2017-02-27 Member: 228342Members Posts: 187 Advanced user
I am about to build the Neptune Cockpit, and I have encountered a situation.

While I can see repurposing a Cyclops Shield Generator for the Neptune rocket, it makes perfect sense, what boggles my mind is this: I have gotten through the entire game without needing to build a Cyclops, but now to get off the planet I have to build this stupid submarine for the sole purpose of accessing the on-board special purpose fabricator to build the shield for use in the rocket. This is idiotic. The cyclops modules should all be available in the Vehicle Upgrade Console like every other Vehicle Upgrade in the game.

Comments

  • ryansearcyakryansearcyak Alaska Join Date: 2018-03-01 Member: 238451Members Posts: 24 Advanced user
    I wish the Cyclops had more uses when I played for the first time. When I used it, it was only to transfer a large amount of resources between bases. It practically never saw the Lost River with the exception of my base in the Ghost Forest. Never took it to the Inactive Lava Zone. It would be nice if the Cyclops offered more unique features that cannot be done inside a base.

    The Seamoth was my preferred vehicle of choice, it can take me to depths to get any resource except for Kyanite. It's smaller and faster than the Cyclops and it is far easier to dodge predators.

    I do agree with having to make the Cyclops in order to finish the rocket, because quite frankly, that would make the end too easy.
    mono_no_aware
  • AnomalyDetectedAnomalyDetected Alterra Housing District: Planet Vicaron. Join Date: 2017-04-19 Member: 229741Members Posts: 512 Advanced user
    I cannot relate.

    I use my cyclops all the time. It acts as my mobile operations center, where I do everything. I eat, store, explore, and chill in it. It's much more useful than usual.
    ================Anomaly================
    "Life is a game,
    which the universe plays with itself."

    Well said, Jochi Khasar. Well said.
    ================Anomaly================
    Crewman87Balescifiwriterguy
  • JustAHatJustAHat Join Date: 2018-04-25 Member: 240316Members Posts: 59 Advanced user
    edited May 24
    I really don't see the problem here. Also, as for your suggestion of moving the shield upgrade to the VUC, that would do more harm than good. As let's say you're in the ilz, and you need a shield upgrade built and fast, boom, just whip one up at the cyclops upgrade fabricator. Alternatively if it was in the VUC, well, you get the idea there. I find upgrades having to be made in the cyclops makes way more sense, as some upgrades require materials (like kyanite) that are in the ilz.
  • Sam_StarfallSam_Starfall Join Date: 2017-05-21 Member: 230665Members Posts: 192 Advanced user
    I'm also surprised you "never use the cyclops", enough to doubt it actually even if I'm at odd as to why you would lie like that.
    You DO KNOW you can build a fabricator and storage inside? even put some plant, giving it essentially infinite range once you can recharge with thermal vent.
    Giving it more ability, like scanning for ore would more or less kill the last reason I needed base.

    One of the rare upgrade I'm ok with would be a Storage system accessible from both inside and outside AND with the Prawn, if I had that and it stack I would actually build a Cyclops only for mining.

    Any other change I could come up with are more in the Total Conversion.
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,653 Advanced user
    edited May 25
    The Cyclops is like the carrier of the fleet, once you've got it you can set up base anywhere you want, any time, any place. without having to go through the hell called the bug-fest that is ... Building a base... Not to mention you aren't forced to get them resources for all those bases.

    Although for some insane reason, you do need a moonpool to upgrade/mod your PRAWN... But here's the kicker... You CANNOT acces the upgrades while it's inside the bloody moonpool. It's like them dev type people are trolling us :D

    What were they thinking?

    mqdefault.jpg

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • FlametuskFlametusk Sparse Reef Join Date: 2018-01-24 Member: 235582Members Posts: 69 Advanced user
    I drove my Cyclops all of once in my survival world that I finished. It was to carry resources needed to start a base over by the northern blood kelp zone, along with carrying my prawn over there. Never turned on the engine since. It's still floating over that place.

    Why don't I use It? A) I like having really impractical bases with a huge stack of alien containments.
    B) I like building huge, sprawling bases.
    C) I like growing aquatic flora.
    D) most importantly, the Cyclops can be destroyed. Cyclopses are more expensive than moonpools were before 1.0!
    E) Cyclopses are not agile in any way shape or form.

    Whenever I needed Kyanite, I went down into the depths of the blood kelp, into the ghost forest, and past the cove tree, before grappling my way out the way I came. Until I went to the power plant, in which case I simply jump jet and grappled my way swiftly over to the gun. Or, no. I only did that once, and the way I left was through the mushroom forest.

    It is my opinion that the best place to build a base is the northern end of the Sparse Reef.

    That moment when you accidentally eat the last Marblemelon.
  • Migel_O_HaraMigel_O_Hara Join Date: 2018-05-27 Member: 240962Members Posts: 9 Fully active user
    Hmmm interesting thought
  • AnachAnach Join Date: 2018-06-10 Member: 241279Members Posts: 11 Fully active user
    I found the Cyclops was really useful for transporting the Prawn. I would use silent mode on the Cyclops whenever I was in dangerous areas, and never had a problem with any size creature, they all just swam by. I used it to go everywhere as a mobile base. The prawn is too slow and cumbersome to go too far on it's own, so I rarely used it until I got the Cyclops. I would park the Cyclops at the alien bases and use the prawn to enter the bases, which was obviously the intended design, as you need the drill to gather those alien cubes. With the Cyclops you have unlimited food, water, power, no matter where you are.
  • elfcrisiselfcrisis Join Date: 2017-05-13 Member: 230466Members Posts: 478 Advanced user
    I've gone entire games where I've done almost nothing with the Cyclops, and other games where I did almost everything with it.

    I like that I get to choose how I play the game, at least in that regard.
  • BlueBottleBlueBottle Australia Join Date: 2018-02-03 Member: 236674Members Posts: 149 Advanced user
    edited July 9
    I feel the Cyclops was designed during a period when the game was expected to include airlocks and various other 'realistic' depth mechanics. That way the Cyclops would have been essential for use with a dry entry PRAWN suit, away from home base moonpools etc..

    You can see a hint the Devs had a fuller depth mechanic in mind from the Cyclops' nose compartment labelled "Diving Chamber" and laid out with a bulkhead like a floodable airlock. There's another airlock pictured in the concept art too.
    a3mev5m0j4ct.jpg

    Cool hey? Shame they didn't go this way, but I remember there were a lot of performance issues they were wrestling with in the months leading up to release, when they announced there would be a hold on all new content until they solved them. So I suppose they included the Cyclops-Neptune spare part mechanic as a reason for the player to bother building this expensive now non-essential craft.
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 380 Advanced user
    There's another reason why they abandoned such mechanics. Waiting for intermediary rooms to lock up, then flood (or dry up) is fun at first, but it is considered to slow down the game with repetitive animations down the line.
    Personally, I would love to see this implemented.
  • BlueBottleBlueBottle Australia Join Date: 2018-02-03 Member: 236674Members Posts: 149 Advanced user
    edited July 9
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    There's another reason why they abandoned such mechanics .... it is considered to slow down the game with repetitive animations down the line.


    Hey @Maalteromm, is that an official position from a Dev post somewhere? I find it hard to get a response from them on such issues.

  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 380 Advanced user
    They do not usually respond, unless it's something critical.
    Most information discussed on the forums come from other users discussing trello cards, tweets or comments from discord.

    So, mostly, I'm second handedly informed.
    Without the means to evaluate confidence of the source material and my own, usually flawed, memories and interpretations; I would take anything I say with a gram of salt (or 28,5ml of dehydrated seawater, your pick).
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 15,653 Advanced user
    edited July 9
    Did someone say "repetitive animations"?


    HMM???

    *explodes*

    Guardian of the "magic cookiejar" AdminModerator

    Existence Unknown

    Retired forum Admin, I mostly used a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly
    Retired EUPT Deputy | Moral Support | Squad 5 Blue
    102 1HP Skulk escapes and counting | Play the Latest Version of Booster Z-Frame
    YouTube NS2 Playlists: Unusual Selection | NS2 Stuff | NS2PT | NS2 Tuts

  • BlueBottleBlueBottle Australia Join Date: 2018-02-03 Member: 236674Members Posts: 149 Advanced user
    edited July 9
    @Maalteromm, Ok thanks for the honesty dude.

    Meanwhile, just thinking on a cure for the whole 'useless' Cyclops issue (IMHO), even without reintroducing airlocks, this problem might be solved just but making PRAWN entry/exit impossible in the water. I can't imagine this would create any lengthy development issue, and if people are too used to the current arrangement then this could be implemented just within the hardcore mode.

    Or have I missed something here?
  • MaalterommMaalteromm Brasil Join Date: 2017-09-22 Member: 233183Members Posts: 380 Advanced user
    I don't think it is useless, more like unnecessary.
    It has a role as mobile base, something that allows you to rest, eat/drink and store whatever, wherever.
    The major drawback against this role is the dimensions of the map and the range of the smaller vehicles. Since you can go anywhere very quickly, without worrying about recharging, this role gets really hurt.

    The way I envision it, the map should be huge and take a couple hours to go from one edge to the opposite in regular transportation modes. Then the Cyclops would have a "traveling" role, with very high top speed, low acceleration and very clumsy maneuverability, including some sort of "autorun", in which it would keep going forward at top speed (preferably at surface). In it, crossing the map would fall to ~10 - 15min, which could be used to eat, drink, craft or get up to date with PDA entries (it should have tons of it, the more the merrier).

    I believe your suggestion would not hinder the game in any way, it could at least be optional.
    However they seem to be done with this game, excluding performance improvements. I believe any new mechanics will be postponed until the expansion, as it adds value to the new product.
    Mazzy
  • BlueBottleBlueBottle Australia Join Date: 2018-02-03 Member: 236674Members Posts: 149 Advanced user
    Maalteromm wrote: »
    I don't think it is useless, more like unnecessary.

    I believe your suggestion would not hinder the game in any way, it could at least be optional.
    However they seem to be done with this game, excluding performance improvements. I believe any new mechanics will be postponed until the expansion, as it adds value to the new product.

    Yeah, I doubt my vision for the base game will ever be implemented. But hopefully Subnautica is the start of a long lived AAA franchise which eventually develops in that direction.
Sign In or Register to comment.