Flora Fauna/environment interactivity

GenghisConnorGenghisConnor Usa Join Date: 2016-08-25 Member: 221720Members
Hi guys, first off gonna introduce myself, I'm genghisconnor, and I started playing subnautica a few weeks ago. The game is super fun and fills a nice niche for that survival exploration thats hard to fill after minecraft gets boring. I want to thank Obraxis and the rest of the developer team for a fun game, and also for working on it, and communicating with the playerbase daily. The state of many game studios is disappointing so this is good to see, so thank you.

The reason for making this thread is that I havent seen a standalone topic about creatures and their interaction with the environment, which I believe plays a big role in the quality of world-crafting, something this game already excels at.

Take for example the jellyshroom caves, arguably the most well crafted biome. 2 things strike you about this biome when it renders, the first is the large bio-luminescent shrooms illuminating the whole cave. The second is the long eel-like creatures that exit and enter these shrooms. This immediately creates a feeling of connection between lifeforms and their environment and creates an excellent experience.

Another example are the sandsharks burrowing through the ground. not as deliberate as the crabsnakes with their shrooms, but part of their ai, which is interesting. Stalkers play with scrap metal, which is a little different from above examples.

We could eventually see similiar things from already existing creatures, maybe rabbit rays swim through coral tubes all day, or reefbacks swim together in particular patterns. What if Reapers carried around boulders in their mandibles to strengthen them, and it would give the mandibles a reason for existing besides grabbing the seamoth.