Turn Based Selection

.trixX..trixX. Budapest Join Date: 2007-10-11 Member: 62605Members
I've set out to create a mod that repurposes NS2 to be a TBS game. I'm a seasoned developer, but have no experience with LUA or the Spark engine. I'd like to outline my approach and ideas, in the hope of receiving suggestions/advice/best practices/ideas from you ;]

1. Only two players would be able to participate in a match and only as commanders

2. Element of chance would come from player actions. My budding idea for this is to allow aliens to choose a feign move, while the marines can choose an anticipate move.
Gorges could choose feign left/right (50%)
Skulks: left/right/up(33%)
Lerks: left/right/up/down (25%)
Fades: left/right/up (33%)
Onos: no feign (100%)
Marines would select an according anticipate move when targeting a lifeform. If the marine choses the same as the alien, 100% damage will be dealt, otherwise only 50%. Aliens would always deal 100% damage (spikes and spit will need replacement/changes probably). This would be the core mechanic of every engagement.
One could argue this is still dice rolling, so I'm thinking the chosen evade move will have to have some kind of tactical effect. Evade direction could limit the movement direction for the next round maybe?

3. Dividing the game into rounds would be based on current time values. So for eg, max running and walking distance for the round would be calculated from the corresponding speed values. Each round would take a fix amount of time, around 5 seconds (compared to current vanila game).