Worth getting a server?

ezekelezekel Join Date: 2012-11-29 Member: 173589Members, NS2 Map Tester
edited January 2014 in NS2 General Discussion
So I've always wanted to run my server in a game, and now that I'm finally rich from saving my lunch money for 9 years I'm able to afford a server.

My first venture was Rust, because it was new, hot, and poppin yo.

Anyway long story short(not really), I did a well job, set up the server with mods, moderated it so that my players could have a cheat free experience, backed up the server, and yatta yatta.

Then I started to play on my server like a regular player, even eventually promoted one guy to limited admin and well everything hit the crapper. - First off the rust community is atrocious, it's filled with children, complete noobs to video games, and people who shouldn't be playing 'perma-death' games, basically the players on the server got owned and lost all their things to better players, then threatened to quit, started fearmonging other players that admin(s) were abusive (there's only one admin besides me and he can do literally nothing besides kick/ban/teleport - which I doubt was abused)

Anyway long story short, all the noobs gathered together and left and basically that was a large portion of the playerbase (I'm sure they'll do it again on their next server after getting owned again)

So I was debating getting another server for a different game, I'm thinking a CS:GO Deathmatch (custom servers in csgo are trash because of matchmaking, and matchmaking is trash so basically the community is left with 3rd party clients or deathmatch servers) and then Natural selection 2