Texture memory usage and its effect on loading times

HowserHowser UK Join Date: 2010-02-08 Member: 70488Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Retired Community Developer
As a hobbyist modeler I've been looking at a lot of the wonderful art for reference on how to make quality models for games. One thing I've noticed is there's quite a few odd choices in terms of the resolution of the textures and the lack of recycling of certain maps. For instance the skulks texture is the same size as the onus and hive, in some instances the shadow textures could (with a little blending) double up for the vanilla, some specular and luminosity maps at 2048* are unnecessarily high res (and would probably have no visual difference if reduced to 512* -like the harvester has). I believe I could reduce the amount of memory used by the core content by 20%+ with no visual difference and that's without researching compression DDS formats for certain textures. the question is Would this have an effect on loading times? and What is texture streaming's role in all this?

I'm not critting the art in any shape or form so please don't think I'm slating any of the talented buggers that made this great content... I just think there's some room to clean up some of the materials and textures to be more memory efficient. If people can confirm it will reduce loading and improve performance then I'll start working on a clean up mod and we can test times but I literally have no idea about the engine stuff and what causes the loading times to be quite so long. It seems unfair that all the hard-work has fallen on the coding team to reduce loading times if there's culling that could be done on the art side of things.