Best practice for overriding a local function

DaanVanYperenDaanVanYperen The Netherlands Join Date: 2013-06-16 Member: 185580Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow
Working on the Skulks WIth Shotguns mod, going great so far. I'm new to lua and ns2 modding though so having some trouble with the basics.

What would you suggest to be the best method for overriding a local function?

Specifically AssignPlayerToEgg, in AlienTeam.lua.

My best solution is overriding AlienTeam:Update (which calls AssignPlayerToEgg) in a mod file, but that leads to a lot of local functions having to end up in my mod file as well. I figure I might be overlooking some basic method of achieving just a single local function override.

Thanks!

Comments

• Soul_RiderSoul_Rider Mod Bean Join Date: 2004-06-19 Member: 29388Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    If you can specify what you are trying to achieve, we can possibly advise on a way to do it. Why would you not just edit the function, rather than override it?

If you could supply more info, I am sure we can help :)

Oh and good luck with the programming, Howser told me you had finally bitten the NS2 bullet. As you have programming experience, you should find this lua coding pretty easy :D
  • DaanVanYperenDaanVanYperen The Netherlands Join Date: 2013-06-16 Member: 185580Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow
    The typical way to do this seems to be supplying my own AlienTeam.lua file copy with just small bits changed, which will make the mod more fragile and harder to maintain. I rather just replace a single local function from my own source files, but I can't seem to do that without also copying over the calling class functions.

I saw there is a way of injecting local variables into a class method, is there some way to inject local functions? (Specifically AssignPlayerToEgg into AlienTeam:Update).
  • FehaFeha Join Date: 2006-11-16 Member: 58633Members
    edited January 2014