Server Performance

Side1Bu2Rnz9Side1Bu2Rnz9 Join Date: 2012-10-16 Member: 162510Members, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow
I've noticed that recently many of the servers I tend to use have been having crappy server performance (studdering, rubberbanding, lag outs, red plugs, ect). Now I'm not naming any servers and those who post on this thread should not either. I just have a question as to why this is happening. The reason I frequented those servers were because normally I had no issue with the performance (server tick rate of 30 and bla bla). Recently in the last couple patches the servers have been struggling to maintain that 30 tick rate and my gaming experience has suffered. Has the req's for servers gone up since the most recent patches or is it an issue with the game? Is there a work around such as lowering player count on servers or is it just something that devs need to attempt to help with? I have no server experience so I have not idea about anything with servers, but I know what the cause for my rubberbanding is and it's not my ping or my fps (mostly sub 100ms and around 100fps average). Thanks for answering any of my questions.

Comments

• SamusDroidSamusDroid Colorado Join Date: 2013-05-13 Member: 185219Members, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, Subnautica Playtester, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts
    Known bug already being worked on. It's a tough one to nail down as there are numerous causes that may be attributing to it.
  • BensonBenson Join Date: 2012-03-07 Member: 148303Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    edited October 2013
    I've been having the exact same issue.

From what I've gleaned from these forums, the decrease in performance may be related to the new badge and/or ranking system, since gathering the info about who has what badge, and sending stats back to the Hive(?) ranking system put extra strain on the Server.