Natural Selection 2 Tutorial Level

CalegoCalego Join Date: 2013-01-24 Member: 181848Members, NS2 Map Tester
Alrighty, we've all got our various theories as to why rookies stop playing NS2 we're not going to dive into that debate here. What I for one believe to be a factor is that NS2 lacks some sort of tutorial level for new players to get a feel for things before they're thrown into the throng. This sort of thing isn't very high on UWE's priorities list (with good reason) so I figure we as the community should give it a shot. Perhaps if it gets polished enough UWE will consider including it vanilla.

I've got zero knowledge of lua and about as much knowledge of coding in general. So I figured I'd ask and see if anyone is willing to help with some stuff to go into the mod. I've laid out a basic map in editor which will work decently enough as a marine introduction level.

What I need now is as follows:

- A way to start the round/level without setting cheats to 1. Once a player joins Marines the round should start.

- Some sort of UI element that can be updated with current objectives based on the room a player is in or based on some other trigger. Ideally it would be based on a progression through the tutorial but that's probably a lot more complicated than displaying a message based on room.

Something similar to the way explore mode displays tips is a good model to work from. Perhaps displaying said tips after pointing at something would also be useful.

- A rudimentary AI Skulk that will be capable of spawning on a fixed timer after a trigger and be able to use vents. All it really needs is running and attacking in a straight line, anything else is a bonus. We're just introducing the marine to the enemy, not teaching advanced combat.

- Starting the round with the chair "occupied" or at least locked. Also removing any "commander needed" messages.