Fade and Lerk - frustration for new players

KamamuraKamamura Join Date: 2013-03-06 Member: 183736Members, Reinforced - Gold
edited April 2013 in New Player Forum
IMO those two lifeforms are the greatest source of frustration in the game. You save for them (especially for fade) for quite some time, then BAM, a shotgun blast and you are back at skulking again. Little time to learn. I am still learning fade, but for the new players who are afraid to use them (always saving for onos that may never come), here are a few pointers:

LERK

- Buy sooner rather than later, once shotguns are out, lerks have much harder time

- Some players are confused by the perpetual motion when flying, so to hit things, they perch and spam spikes. Never do that! Due to lag, when a marine spots you and you start eating bullets, you will be dead before you can react. Always move, always dodge.

- Lerk has a poisonous bite! New players do not know this. You can bite just once, retreat, let the poison work, and when the marine starts running to the base to heal, bite him in the back!

- Think basically in two modes - chopper and fighter plane. In chopper mode, just dodge left-right-up-down continuously, while spraying with spikes. IMO this has limited use, and you are quite vulnerable to rifle fire, but it's good for relatively safe harassment. Fighter plane mode - seek TyrsisXL videos on youtube, he demonstrates it perfectly. Mark with spikes, let the marine shoot wild, emptying clip, and when he's reloading, come close and kill him with bites. Alternatively, bite once or twice, retreat, let the poison work, then return to finish the fleeing enemy.

- Practice vertical dodging. People are good at tracking targets dodging to sides, but if you fly against an enemy who fires at you, and suddenly start climbing steeply up, they fail to track you. Practice zig-zagging up and down, it's a powerful evasive maneuver that will often save you.