Dedicated Server Setup

The_AncientThe_Ancient Join Date: 2013-03-01 Member: 183511Members
Hello,

I am new to the NS2 front. Please can someone explain to me how to set my server to execute a configuration file or give me an example of a standard configuration file for the server to run? I have followed a tutorial on youtube, downloaded SteamCMD, downloaded the NS2 dedicated server files, allowed the program through windows firewall, no portwarding is required as it's not behind NAT. I need to know what the server.txt file is supposed to have in it and what commands i need to add to the shortcut target line in order to get it to execute.

Any support would be appreciated.

Comments

• ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Note sure which tutorial video you followed, but the most up-to-date server info is located on the wiki page: http://wiki.unknownworlds.com/index.php/Dedicated_Server

The biggest issue I see from new server operators is getting the launch options and config files setup correctly. Personally, I prefer launching the servers from a windows batch file with a setup like this:
    @echo off

cd D:\NS2Server2
    C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /C start /high "NS2 Server 2" Server.exe -name "Server Name" -config_path "C:\server\config" -map ns2_summit -limit 20 -ip 192.168.0.10 -port 27015 -webadmin -webdomain 192.168.0.192 -webport 80 -webuser user -webpassword password

To turn that into a shortcut launch options all you need is to put the following in the target line:
    -name "Server Name" -config_path "C:\server\config" -map ns2_summit -limit 20 -ip 192.168.0.10 -port 27015 -webadmin -webdomain 192.168.0.10 -webport 80 -webuser user -webpassword password

The only necessary commands are
    - name
    - map
    - limit