How do you "Grey Box" out your map ?

QwiXXeRQwiXXeR Join Date: 2004-11-05 Member: 32640Members
Hey, While we are waiting to see if Guide to the spark editor gets revived and re-uploaded I thought I'd ask the question, seeing as I am VERY new to mapping and its taking me ages just to grey out my map.

So, on paper/computer, you have drawn your techpoint/RT flow diagram, so you know roughly where they will be and what is connected where. You have an idea for the theme of each techpoint and RT point, maybe dont quite have an idea of how the connecting corridors/rooms/elevation will look.

How do you go about "Boxxing" out your map in the editor with just the standard grey panels.
Do you make each main room a box and leave the corridors till later?
Do you use the extrude tool to quickly make square, on the grid rooms and corridors all linked together?
How much of the rough shape and big props do you throw in?

I have spent days trying to box out my map, all simple grey textures, simple lights just to light the box, just the big props thrown in, some rooms don't even have the shape they will end up in, literally just some props and thoughts so that when I come back to do the room properly I'l have some ideas in there.

Could someone maybe make a video? because some of the articles I have read indicate a full rough of the whole map being made in a couple of hours, Like a full on match playable map!, I must be missing some tricks here.

Comments

• HowserHowser UK Join Date: 2010-02-08 Member: 70488Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Retired Community Developer
    Hey man,here's my current thinking and workflow on gray boxing:
    grab a copy of ns2_caged, check that out as a prime example of gray boxing (minus the detailed areas) Its got enough detail, cover and lighting to be very playable with out too much time spent faffing around on the arty farty stuff.