no more crosshair ...

ludobabsludobabs Join Date: 2012-12-04 Member: 174136Members
Hi everybody ...

i have a problem .... i don't have any crosshair when i play marines ? What is the matter ? Thx to all

Comments

  • AngeluszAngelusz Harmonic entropist Join Date: 2003-07-10 Member: 18072Members, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester
    That is strange. If you open up your console (press ~), do you see any errors? You could try right clicking NS2 in steam to verify the game cache files, perhaps an error snuck in.
  • ludobabsludobabs Join Date: 2012-12-04 Member: 174136Members
    no problem in the NS2's console and the cache is ok .... no mod installed ... unbelievable
  • bHackbHack Join Date: 2010-03-23 Member: 71059Members
    edited December 2012
    Go to:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Natural Selection 2\ns2\ui"
    and check if you still have these two files:
    crosshair.dds
    crosshair-hit.dds

    If yes, open file Player_Client.lua (don't remember where it is exactly) an search for <b>function layerUI_GetCrosshairY()</b>
    By default it should like this:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->function PlayerUI_GetCrosshairY()

        local player = Client.GetLocalPlayer()

        if(player and not player:GetIsThirdPerson()) then  
          
            local weapon = player:GetActiveWeapon()
            if(weapon ~= nil) then
            
                // Get class name and use to return index
                local index
                local mapname = weapon:GetMapName()
                
                if mapname == Rifle.kMapName or mapname == GrenadeLauncher.kMapName then
                    index = 0
                elseif mapname == Pistol.kMapName then
                    index = 1
                elseif mapname == Shotgun.kMapName then
                    index = 3
                elseif mapname == Minigun.kMapName then
                    index = 4
                elseif mapname == Flamethrower.kMapName then
                    index = 5
                // All alien crosshairs are the same for now
                elseif mapname == Spikes.kMapName or mapname == Parasite.kMapName or mapname == LerkUmbra.kMapName then
                    index = 6
                elseif(mapname == SpitSpray.kMapName) then
                    index = 7
                // Blanks (with default damage indicator)
                else
                    index = 8
                end
            
                return index * 64
                
            end
            
        end

    end<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    Copy and replace your code with the one I've provided.

    Lastly, if that will not help - install a crosshairs mod from workshop. There are plenty of good (better than default) crosshairs. If you don't like them, ask for a friend (or someone) to upload default crosshair files for you (crosshair.dds, crosshair-hit.dds).

    PS you can always re-install the game in order to get default files back :) Not sure if there is a steam option to re-scan files and reverse modded to default ones.
  • greenpeegreenpee Join Date: 2012-04-10 Member: 150218Members
    I don't wanna sound ######y, but are there people on the other team? You have no crosshair during the "warmup time" before a round starts, and that doesn't happen until there's an alien on the other team.
  • bHackbHack Join Date: 2010-03-23 Member: 71059Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2039890:date=Dec 4 2012, 04:01 PM:name=greenpee)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (greenpee @ Dec 4 2012, 04:01 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2039890"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I don't wanna sound ######y, but are there people on the other team? You have no crosshair during the "warmup time" before a round starts, and that doesn't happen until there's an alien on the other team.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    That is true as well. Crosshair appears only in warmup (when you have opponent) and live game.
Sign In or Register to comment.