Server Specs

2»

Comments

  • WarboyWarboy Join Date: 2012-09-05 Member: 157929Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester
    <!--quoteo(post=1974897:date=Sep 10 2012, 05:17 AM:name=MOOtant)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (MOOtant @ Sep 10 2012, 05:17 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1974897"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->That's not true but I have to search for blog post that made it explicit. UP: I can't find it, whatever.

    For range 1024 - 2048 we have 8388608 representable numbers with resolution 0.00012.
    For 131072 - 262144 we have same amount of numbers but precision is only 0.015.

    If server doesn't reset time after round end then it's enough for it to be running for 1-2 days to get to such low precision. If frametime is calculated that way:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->float prev;
    float cur;

    float frame = cur -  prev;

    int last_tick;

    float ticks_since_last = (cur/0.33f) - last_tick;

    float tick_time = 0.33f * (last_tick+1)<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    Then frame value can be only 0 or 0.015 (15 miliseconds) or 0.031 (31 miliseconds). Even if tick_count_since_last_frame is calculated correctly and subtracted it simply has no precision to keep enough information about when the last frame was.

    Furthermore lots of things in game rely on curTime being precise, things like if (curTime > lastAttackTime) would have significantly worse resolution.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    I need a script to reset my server every 12 hours, it seems it becomes laggy after 12 hours, even tho tickrate stays high.
  • endarendar Join Date: 2010-07-27 Member: 73256Members, Squad Five Blue
    I recommend you do a daily restart, at maybe 3-6AM? Doing it twice daily will most likely interrupt at a peak time.

    Another thing which you should implement is the Restart When Empty. It used to be handled by devnull's auto-update program, but that hasn't been updated since SteamCMD came in.

    I have a batch file that achieves the same result, pm me if you're interested. I don't really want to post it here since I don't want to support it.
  • xDragonxDragon Join Date: 2012-04-04 Member: 149948Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow
    The fact that this issue hasnt been fixed really does baffle me tbh, the tickrate bug occurs after roughly 2 hours of uptime on servers, its extremely obvious once it has occurred as the tickrate goes from being completely random to repeating the same numbers over and over.
  • xDragonxDragon Join Date: 2012-04-04 Member: 149948Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow
    Figure ill add this too, chart shows tickrate counts that are >500 by server uptime.. The problem is not as bad immediately but is pretty noticeable after about 4k+ uptime..

    To be fair stating servers should be restarted daily is true, but I can run source/hlds servers for weeks without a restart. The issue here is that you really cannot make 1 day reasonably with the current NS2 dedicated server.

    <a href="http://i.imgur.com/g3X6r.png" target="_blank">http://i.imgur.com/g3X6r.png</a>
  • RockyMarcRockyMarc Join Date: 2009-11-24 Member: 69519Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Is anyone using a Dell R210 Xeon 2.4GHz with 8gb ram (standard off the shelf unit) for an NS2 server?
    Just wondering how this would peform for a NS2 server.
  • ArgathorArgathor Join Date: 2011-07-18 Member: 110942Members, Squad Five Blue
    <!--quoteo(post=1982198:date=Sep 24 2012, 12:35 AM:name=RockyMarc)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (RockyMarc @ Sep 24 2012, 12:35 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1982198"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Is anyone using a Dell R210 Xeon 2.4GHz with 8gb ram (standard off the shelf unit) for an NS2 server?
    Just wondering how this would peform for a NS2 server.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Tried this patch and it tanked at 8-10 players. Tickrate between 5 and 15.

    Sadly, completely unacceptable gameplay wise.
  • RockyMarcRockyMarc Join Date: 2009-11-24 Member: 69519Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=1982201:date=Sep 24 2012, 07:52 AM:name=Argathor)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Argathor @ Sep 24 2012, 07:52 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1982201"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Tried this patch and it tanked at 8-10 players. Tickrate between 5 and 15.

    Sadly, completely unacceptable gameplay wise.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Bugger hey, pretty standard server that one I know but it's a common rental one for people to rent out... Hmmm UWE any word on server optimisation? :(
  • syserrorsyserror Join Date: 2007-08-09 Member: 61840Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=1982202:date=Sep 24 2012, 12:53 AM:name=RockyMarc)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (RockyMarc @ Sep 24 2012, 12:53 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1982202"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Bugger hey, pretty standard server that one I know but it's a common rental one for people to rent out... Hmmm UWE any word on server optimisation? :(<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    They are working on it, can't say any more than that really :/
  • eLboteLbot Join Date: 2012-09-13 Member: 159229Members
    edited September 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=1982198:date=Sep 23 2012, 04:35 PM:name=RockyMarc)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (RockyMarc @ Sep 23 2012, 04:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1982198"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Is anyone using a Dell R210 Xeon 2.4GHz with 8gb ram (standard off the shelf unit) for an NS2 server?
    Just wondering how this would peform for a NS2 server.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I run the risk of repeating myself but It's worth stating that R210's with the top-end Xeon's perform just fine. E3-1280 and above (E3-1280v2 / E3-1290[v2]) have no issue running many instances without any significant performance issues up to 18 slots a server, i've seen others run 20 slots on the same chip but it dips tick to 25 in any significant encounters on rounds that have gone beyond 40+ mins. Proper allocation (spliting instances by proc affinity and ensuring high proc priority) improves the situation even further.
  • ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=1982451:date=Sep 24 2012, 09:43 AM:name=eLbot)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (eLbot @ Sep 24 2012, 09:43 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1982451"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I run the risk of repeating myself but It's worth stating that R210's with the top-end Xeon's perform just fine. E3-1280 and above (E3-1280v2 / E3-1290[v2]) have no issue running many instances without any significant performance issues up to 18 slots a server, i've seen others run 20 slots on the same chip but it dips tick to 25 in any significant encounters on rounds that have gone beyond 40+ mins. Proper allocation (spliting instances by proc affinity and ensuring high proc priority) improves the situation even further.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    In my experience, the top-of-the-line Xeon's are still pretty rare or expensive, especially at GSP's. I'm sure if you searched long and hard enough you could find a decently priced dedicated high-end Xeon, but you'd be sacrificing something like good location.
  • RawrawrawrawrRawrawrawrawr Join Date: 2010-12-19 Member: 75781Members
    edited September 2012
    People keep asking me and I saw this post so I will post my specs. I am running the -[420]- East Coast Server.

    CPU: Xeon E3-1270 - 4 x 3.40
    RAM: 16GB DDR3
    OS: Windows server 2008 R2 (64bit)
    Virt: none that I know of
    Servers: 1 (will launch another when servers get optimized more)
    Slots: 16
    Tickrate Dropoff:

    16 players has been stable for me but need to reset every night. at 18 the tick starts dropping after a few hours. I noticed the tick has been less stable after B220. I am turning off hyper threading tonight when servers are empty hoping that helps a little. The game server eats up pretty much all the core it is running on when it has players. Even when it is empty it is running 20%. I guess cause lua.
Sign In or Register to comment.