Server features we would like to see before release

invTempestinvTempest Join Date: 2003-03-02 Member: 14223Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
<div class="IPBDescription">A list of features to make NS2 servers easy to run and manage</div>I have been running NS2 servers for a year and 3 months now and over the course of this time I have seen a number of things change with the server (for better and some for worse) that I would like to open up a topic on features which we would like to see added before the game gets fully released which will not only make NS2 very easy to run server wise but it will be a whole lot more user friendly than it is right now.

<b>Server logging:</b>

First and foremost, the game needs to do proper logging. Right now the logs are very sparse and that is fine for when it is in beta as the logs are mostly used to find and fix script errors, but once the game gets released we will need to see a lot more information being logged to allow for better administration and also so people can create and implement tools such as stat tracking and performance monitors (for those that want it for their community).

Lets take a look at the current connection log format: (ip's and steamID's removed)

<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->Client connecting (###########)
Client connecting (###########)
Client connected (#########)
Client Authed. Steam ID: #######
Client connected (#########)
Client Authed. Steam ID: #########
Dr. Pz connected.
NsPlayer (2) is now known as m42.
Client connected (##########)
Client Authed. Steam ID: #######<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

When a player connects there is no easy way to associate an IP to a steamID to a username. This makes it extremely hard for server admins to use logs files to use as evidence when kicking and or banning a person.

Now lets look how TF2 and the source engine does it: