How export animations and physics?

PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
Is there any tutorial?
I know how to export models, but whats with animations and physics?
Would be nice to see some tutorial or some informations.

Comments

  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    Okay i figure out physics (very simple, just create a nother LOW POLY model around your model and export ONLY that model as collada).
    But how i do animations or export them?
    I can add bones to the model, but how animate them? with cinematic editor?
    <img src="http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5002/2012032000002.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />
  • WilsonWilson Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 72867Members
    I think the animations are done in 3dsmax and then triggered/programmed via the animation graph in the viewer.
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    edited March 2012
    Thanks for your try to help, but no, if i open for example the arc.model i see the animation names in the file itself also if i remove the animation graph, there still all animations.
    I am sure, its a export "thing".
    <img src="http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/5997/testxd.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />
    :(

    Edit:
    maybe its about the builder not other programms.
    i am sure, the animation graph is "only" for effects, like the phasegate blueeffect.
  • WilsonWilson Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 72867Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1915826:date=Mar 21 2012, 10:39 AM:name=Price)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Price @ Mar 21 2012, 10:39 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1915826"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Thanks for your try to help, but no, if i open for example the arc.model i see the animation names in the file itself also if i remove the animation graph, there still all animations.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    That's what made me think they were done in 3dsmax and then saved in the 1 file. Perhaps it's something to do with builder though.


    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->i am sure, the animation graph is "only" for effects, like the phasegate blueeffect.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I don't think so. The animation graph is used to trigger all animations in the game.

    Perhaps if you email one of the UWE guys they will point you in the right direction.
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    edited March 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=1915877:date=Mar 21 2012, 02:33 PM:name=Wilson)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Wilson @ Mar 21 2012, 02:33 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1915877"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->the animation graph is used to trigger all animations in the game.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    are you sure? because i take a look at the infestation and it has a "scale" animation in it but NO animation graph and you can see the infestation ingame growing/scale bigger.
    I am very sure now, that the builder, put the animated DAEs into the .model file.
    Because it makes no sense adding all animations to the model file (like 1000 frames) instead of having it like in every game.
    best example is half life(2), you export your model and animations, then you build them up to one .mdl file.
    the thing is, whats the command for the .model_compile file.

    i could be wrong but thats what my guess is.

    Edit:
    i love it when a plan comes together:
    <img src="http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/2794/yesbaby.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    i am happy like a child on xmas lol
  • fsfodfsfod uk Join Date: 2004-04-09 Member: 27810Members, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Squad Five Gold, Subnautica Playtester, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts
    This is my old model_compile file for the ns1 lerk to build a ns2 model idk if the syntax has changed much but it still might be some use to you

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->geometry "lerk.dae"

    animation idle layer{
        "idle.DAE" loop
        blend look_yaw 0 1{
            "communicate_blend1.DAE" relative_to "idle.DAE"
            "communicate_blend2.DAE" relative_to "idle.DAE"
        }
        blend look_pitch 0 1{
            "look_left.DAE" relative_to "idle.DAE"
            "look_right.DAE" relative_to "idle.DAE"
        }
    }

    animation bite blend look_pitch 0 1{
        "ability1_alien_blend1.DAE"
        "ability1_alien_blend2.DAE"
    }

    animation spores blend look_pitch 0 1{
        "ability2_alien_blend1.DAE"
        "ability2_alien_blend2.DAE"
    }


    animation body_flinch "body_flinch.DAE"
    animation body_flinch_ground "body_flinch_ground.DAE"
    animation dead_fall "dead_fall.DAE"
    animation death1_die "death1_die.DAE"
    animation fall_death1 "fall_death1.DAE"
    animation flap_wings "flap_wings.DAE"
    animation flap_loop "flap_wings.DAE" loop
    animation die "back_die.DAE"
    animation glide "glide.DAE" loop
    animation head_flinch "head_flinch.DAE"
    animation head_flinch_ground "head_flinch_ground.DAE"
    animation land "land.DAE"
    animation takeoff "takeoff.DAE"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    edited March 2012
    thank you but this works fine
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--> <model>
       <geometry "vpistol.dae" />
       <materials_path "models/weapons/vpistol" />
      // <physics "vpistol_physics.dae" />
       <scale 1.0 />
    <animation draw "draw.dae" />
    <animation idle1 "idle1.dae" />
    <animation idle2 "idle2.dae" />
    <animation reload "reload.dae" />
    <animation reload_empty "reload_empty.dae" />
    <animation shoot_empty "shoot_empty.dae" />
    <animation shoot1 "shoot1.dae" />
    </model><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
  • WilsonWilson Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 72867Members
    Nice, glad you figured it out. How do you save animations as a .dae, is that done in 3dsmax?
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    edited March 2012
    yes, if you export the animationframes you add a marker while you export and set the frames 0-XX, then you do it like i wrote.
    but im not sure how the player animations are because if you set for example walk in the viewer, the marine isn't running.
    maybe its easy and like i did, but for now i just test it.
    if somebody would code a ns1 mode i would compile all models ^^ but who want the old ugly models? ;)
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited March 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=1916366:date=Mar 22 2012, 08:55 PM:name=Price)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Price @ Mar 22 2012, 08:55 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1916366"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->thank you but this works fine
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--> <model>
       <geometry "vpistol.dae" />
       <materials_path "models/weapons/vpistol" />
      // <physics "vpistol_physics.dae" />
       <scale 1.0 />
    <animation draw "draw.dae" />
    <animation idle1 "idle1.dae" />
    <animation idle2 "idle2.dae" />
    <animation reload "reload.dae" />
    <animation reload_empty "reload_empty.dae" />
    <animation shoot_empty "shoot_empty.dae" />
    <animation shoot1 "shoot1.dae" />
    </model><!--c2--></div><!--ec2--><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Just wondering: Does the <b>//</b> really works for commenting out in Spark o_O ?

    To use a valid XML-schema you have to use <b><!-- your comment/code --></b> for comments instead of <b>//</b>'s, anything else is invalid XML.

    See <a href="http://www.w3schools.com/xml/xml_syntax.asp" target="_blank">http://www.w3schools.com/xml/xml_syntax.asp</a>
  • PricePrice Join Date: 2003-09-27 Member: 21247Members
    edited March 2012
    O_o
    It works, because its <b>not</b> a xml file.
Sign In or Register to comment.