Anyone using paint.NET for textures?

kingmobkingmob Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3650Members, Constellation
I am following this tutorial.

<a href="http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/wiki/index.php/Importing_Custom_Textures" target="_blank">http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/wiki/inde...Custom_Textures</a>

I drew squiggles on a 1024x1024 image.
I have two files.
test.dds
test.material
This is the .material file

<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><material>
    <maps>
        <map type="texture" value="materials/test.dds" />
    </maps>
</material><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

No matter what I save the file in TGA PNG or DDS it is alway checkers.

What am i missing?

Comments

  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    maybe this thread will help you. <a href="http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/forums/index.php?showtopic=112417" target="_blank">http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/forums/in...howtopic=112417</a>
  • kingmobkingmob Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3650Members, Constellation
    Yeah I did see that thread but I saw nothing that I had not already done.

    Maybe I should walk through the image creation again... Maybe I screwed up the DPI.

    But for saving as DDS a screen comes up with tons of options.
    None of which say...
    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->8bpp interpolated alpha<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    These are the options.
    <img src="http://www.getpaint.net/screenshots/pdn310_dds.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    But I tried DXT1, DXT3, and DXT5 and rotated through some of the options still no luck.

    maybe I should switch to GIMP I used to use that back in Q3 days.
  • SN.WolfSN.Wolf Join Date: 2010-03-29 Member: 71115Members
    I use paint.net and save in dtx5.

    I had the same issue then realized that i actually created a sub-folder under the materials folder and forgot to reflect that folder in my path.

    so what i had that gave me the checkerboard was
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><material>
        <maps>
            <map type="texture" value="materials/caveback.dds" />
        </maps>
    </material><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    When what i needed was this-->

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><material>
        <maps>
            <map type="texture" value="materials/snskybox/caveback.dds" />
        </maps>
    </material><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    after adding the snskybox folder in the path it worked fine.


    I'm not sure if the material file has to be in the same folder as the dds but that's how i did mine. I'm sure you could have the dds file anywhere as long as the material file points to where it is but i never tested it.
  • TigTig Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71674Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
    <!--quoteo(post=1827881:date=Jan 27 2011, 04:44 PM:name=SN.Wolf)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (SN.Wolf @ Jan 27 2011, 04:44 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1827881"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I use paint.net and save in dtx5.

    I had the same issue then realized that i actually created a sub-folder under the materials folder and forgot to reflect that folder in my path.

    so what i had that gave me the checkerboard was
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><material>
        <maps>
            <map type="texture" value="materials/caveback.dds" />
        </maps>
    </material><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    When what i needed was this-->

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><material>
        <maps>
            <map type="texture" value="materials/snskybox/caveback.dds" />
        </maps>
    </material><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    after adding the snskybox folder in the path it worked fine.


    I'm not sure if the material file has to be in the same folder as the dds but that's how i did mine. I'm sure you could have the dds file anywhere as long as the material file points to where it is but i never tested it.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    same thing happened to me and it was the path in the material file.
  • kingmobkingmob Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3650Members, Constellation
    Okay I think I resolved it.

    1) There is something wonky about having things in the root materials directory.
    When i used a sub directory and changed the .material file to have a subdirectory things worked better for the editor.

    2) The editor has some sort of cache for its display of texture in the texture browser.
    If i completely replace the texture...It still looks like the original.
    This is why even when i got it right it would show up as checkerboards in the texture browser.
    BUT IT ACTUALLY WORKS!
    If anyone knows how to force this cache to refresh let me know.

    3) The builder only copies over the material file.
    I figured this out only when I started opening the files on the other end.

    After following all the steps relative to the builder and the special file folders I still have to copy over the .dds file manually.

    I added the following rule to builder_setup.xml so builder is MY beotch :-)
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->        <rule> <!-- Copy Material textures in DDS format (has alpha channel) -->
                <match>${src_dir}\materialsrc\{{*\}?*}.dds</match>
                <output_file>${dst_dir}\materials\%1.dds</output_file>
                <command>copy "${src_dir}\materialsrc\%1.dds" "${dst_dir}\materials\%1.dds"</command>
            </rule><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    Once again their tools have impressed me...
    Once i opened builder_setup.xml I understood alot more.
    The DDS (DirectDraw) is the format they are using in the engine. They usually convert it from PSD.

    Which leaves me with the question ...
    Why i everyone saving in DDS?

    Anyways thanks all for newb support
    you helped me understand what was going on.
    and kept me struggling at it.

    PS: If you haven't heard of Notepad++ it is an excellent FREE tabbed editor for multiple file formats
    <a href="http://notepad-plus-plus.org/" target="_blank">http://notepad-plus-plus.org/</a>
Sign In or Register to comment.