Random FPS drops

cerberus414cerberus414 Join Date: 2005-05-07 Member: 51098Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
edited April 2009 in Tech Support
OK, I've read through these forums, especially the threads regarding the FPS drops. I don't think most of them are the same issue as mine, but they might be similar. I started playing NS like 5 days ago and it worked very well at first as it did always. I guess I had a nail in my ass or something to have the urge to turn Vsync off for better responsiveness. At first, things were smooth as sailing, but then suddenly, random fps drops started happening. We're not just talking fps drops during intense action, although that's when it happens too, but just randomly at any given time even if I'm in a empty room. It's weird though, because if I stop moving, eventually FPS will go back up from 40/50/60 fps back to 100 fps. That could potentially mean that this isn't a localized map issue. I tried nailing down a pattern between these episodes, to see if maybe one of my background processes is causing it to happen (Diskeeper is known to lag NS), but couldn't find anything. Anyways, I tried the following:

1.) Reinstall NS - Did not change a thing
2.) Reinstall NS/HL/Steam - Did not change a thing
3.) Tried many different settings in the Nvidia control panel (Vsync, triple buffering, AA, etc)
4.) Installed the latest NVidia driver - I think it made things worse
5.) Installed an NVidia driver dated from 2-3 yrs ago. - I think there was somewhat of an improvement, but I can still see drops (from 100 fps to 60ish)

Here are my system specs (It's a laptop):
Core 2 Duo 2.0Ghz
2 GB RAM
NVidia 8600M GT
Windows XP SP3
Also, I have the G5 mouse set to 1000 reports/sec (highest) <- Doubt that that can cause problems.

Comments

• BacillusBacillus Join Date: 2006-11-02 Member: 58241Members
    Can you test any other games and hl mods? Doesn't really seem anything would be overheating, but checking temperatures is still nice.