Anti-Cheat in the New Engine

13»

Comments

• SuperflySuperfly Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3485Members, Constellation
    <!--quoteo(post=1684388:date=Jul 24 2008, 04:55 PM:name=Radix)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Radix @ Jul 24 2008, 04:55 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1684388"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I'm no expert on punkbuster, but here are a few:

First, punkbuster is incredibly invasive - perhaps moreso than the Warden. Such features are:

- Scans hardware and assigns bans based on it.
    - Scans all processes launched after game execution <b>and sends them to the server</b>.
    - Scans graphics libraries and other game-critical files (not so bad by itself)
    - Scans <b>entire contents of memory</b>

Punkbuster also contributes to system instability for many users in mild to moderate form:

- Updates in the background causing latency and processor usage
    - Creates an additional layer between the client and server, potentially causing fps and ping spikes. Can randomly drop clients due to minor connection problems that would otherwise not drop the player.
    - Due to a failure in the detection system, running any other program (such as antivirus) while playing has the potential to create a hardware ban against all servers in all games that run punkbuster. The proposed solution is to disable all background processes.
    - Punkbuster has a history of problems with 64 bit systems, such as completely locking players out of servers if they run on a 64 bit platform.
    - Punkbuster has a history of problems allowing user-level accounts from connecting to servers, and requires an additional process to run plus the pb client, and in some cases may still block users from connecting, depending on what game they're playing.