Lifeform Scripts

CowmonautCowmonaut Join Date: 2007-04-18 Member: 60670Members
<div class="IPBDescription">for evolving</div>I used to have some scripts before I had a good mouse/keyboard to save some keys. The menu at the time (think this was 2.0, but I used them in 3.0 as well) was a little bit easier to misclick on and I found i used the same combos anyways so since I like my +jump bound to MOUSE2 I put some aliases together and bound them to the keypad.

Used to look something like this:

<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->alias "xenorush" "celerity; carapace; sof"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

celerity/carapace/sof were also aliases with the proper impulse just so I could remember what they were when I was making binds like this later.

I can't get these working in 3.2! I assume it must be because the impulses are differnt. I tried the ones in the stickied thread here, but no avail. It was nice because before I'd just hit KP_PGN and BAM! I can sit back and watch it morph me into a gorge, evolve adrenaline, evolve redemption, and evolve focus.

I'd like to be able to do that again. It let me pay more attention to the map and what have you, which is handy on pubs cause no one pays attention and is handy on scrims just so you know what's going on.

Any ideas?

Comments

  • CowmonautCowmonaut Join Date: 2007-04-18 Member: 60670Members
    So does no one know why these aren't working?

    The most current list for Impulses I could get are:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->
    // Upgrades
    alias "Celerity" "impulse 107"

    alias "Adrenaline" "impulse 108"

    alias "Silence" "impulse 109"

    alias "Carapace" "impulse 101"

    alias "Regeneration" "impulse 102"

    alias "Redemption "impulse 103"

    alias "Cloaking" "impulse 110"

    alias "Focus" "impulse 111"

    alias "SoF" "impulse 112"
    <!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    That's what that part of my cfg looks like. It's how I did it before, but it's not working in 3.2 so any ideas?
  • huhuhhuhuh Join Date: 2005-01-07 Member: 33190Members
    Well I didn't get exactly what you want, but here's what's in my cfg :

    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->// UPGRADING

    alias skulkupgrade1 "impulse 107; wait; impulse 110; wait; impulse 101" // CELE/CLOAK/CARA
    alias upg1 "bind mouse4 skulkupgrade1; wait; alias switchup upg2; speak one"

    alias skulkupgrade2 "impulse 108; wait; impulse 112; wait; impulse 102" //ADRE/SOF/REGEN
    alias upg2 "bind mouse4 skulkupgrade2; wait; alias switchup upg3; speak two"

    alias skulkupgrade3 "impulse 107; wait; impulse 111; wait; impulse 101" //CELE/FOCUS/CARA
    alias upg3 "bind mouse4 skulkupgrade3; wait; alias switchup upg4; speak three"

    alias skulkupgrade4 "impulse 109; wait; impulse 111; wait; impulse 101" //SILENCE/FOCUS/CARA
    alias upg4 "bind mouse4 skulkupgrade4; wait; alias switchup upg1; speak four"

    alias switchup "upg1"
    bind mwheelup "switchup"<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Basically, when i play skulk, i often use the same 3-upgrades-combos ( or just 2, whatever )
    So, whenever i go and use MWHEELUP for the first time i'll hear " ONE " and then if i use the MOUSE4 button i'll upgrade to cele/cloak/cara ( just have to press mouse4 for each upgrade, so first press = cele, then second press when done = cloak, etc... ). If i ever go mwheelup again, then if i press mouse4 it'll go adre/sof/regen etc...
    You can improve this as your wish, up to i-dunno-how-may upgrades combo.
    I still use the popupmenu sometimes for outstanding upgrades like redemption <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin-fix.gif" />D
    Also, note that for example i always use cara/cele/focus as fade so i don't need this cycle thing, just mouse4 bound to cara/cele/focus is OK. But you need a config for each lifeform then ( or do a big cycle script ).

    Hope I helped you out.
  • CowmonautCowmonaut Join Date: 2007-04-18 Member: 60670Members
    To be honest, that seems just as 'cumbersome' as using the menu. Which isn't bad unless you are tyring to communicate with your team. Not being able to shoot while calling for help/saying aliens spotted is kinda dumb which is why I love the communications scripts out there.

    While I wait to get into my fav NS server I'll play around with it seeing if I can get it to work.
  • GoldenGolden Join Date: 2004-09-01 Member: 31169Members, NS1 Playtester, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Map Tester, WC 2013 - Silver, NS2 Community Developer
    Those are the correct impulses. As far as I know, they should still work.
  • SaeppelSaeppel Join Date: 2005-02-16 Member: 41353Members, Constellation
    i generally put a "v" for voice in front of the voiceimpulse, "m" for marine commands etc. because im not sure whether it might unalias and important alias for the game (but i guess it wouldnt, who cares anyway)
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->

    //first of all the keys that are affected (for me):
    bind kp_enter    "+aalien"
    bind kp_plus    "aups"
    bind kp_minus    "+agebs"
    bind "*"    "rine2"
    bind kp_slash    "rine1"
    bind kp_ins    "+xmenu"
    bind v     +ads

    // here starts the crazyness
    alias "+ads"    "bind 1 vmedpack;bind 2 vammo;bind 3 vreqorders;bind 4 vroger;bind 5 vtaunt"
    alias "-ads"    "tempcfg" //generally "bind 1 slot1" etc. in an alias

    //you should maybe draw a picture about what function is on which button if you really wanna use this :D
    alias "rine1"    "bind kp_end mwu1;bind kp_downarrow mau1;bind kp_pgdn mresupply;bind kp_leftarrow mwu2;bind kp_5 mau2;bind kp_rightarrow mmt;bind kp_home mwu3;bind kp_uparrow mau3;bind kp_pgup mcatalyst"

    alias "rine2"    "bind kp_end mshotgun;bind kp_downarrow mhmg;bind kp_pgdn mgl;bind kp_leftarrow mwelder;bind kp_5 mgrenade;bind kp_rightarrow mmine;bind kp_home mjp;bind kp_uparrow mha;bind kp_pgup mscan"    


    alias "+aalien"    "bind kp_end mskulk;bind kp_downarrow mgorge;bind kp_pgdn mlerk;bind kp_leftarrow mfade;bind kp_5 monos;unbind kp_rightarrow;bind kp_home mab1;bind kp_uparrow mab2;unbind kp_pgup"    
    alias "-aalien"    "aups"
    alias "aups"    "bind kp_end mregeneration;bind kp_downarrow madrenaline;bind kp_pgdn mscentoffear;bind kp_leftarrow mredemption;bind kp_5 mcelerity;bind kp_rightarrow mcloaking;bind kp_home mcarapace;bind kp_uparrow msilence;bind kp_pgup mfocus"    
    alias "+agebs"    "bind kp_end grt;bind kp_downarrow goc;bind kp_pgdn ghive;bind kp_leftarrow gdc;bind kp_5 gmc;bind kp_rightarrow gsc;unbind kp_home;unbind kp_uparrow;unbind kp_pgup"    
    alias "-agebs"    "aups"

    // this is actually quite useful if you like playing on xmenu-servers
    // hold down the button you bind +xmenu to (i use kp_ins = 0 on  numpad) and then hit a number, realease it, you have your upgrade 8)

    alias +xmenu    "opxmenu; bind kp_end slot1; bind kp_downarrow slot2; bind kp_pgdn slot3; bind kp_leftarrow slot4; bind kp_5 slot5; bind kp_rightarrow slot6"
    alias -xmenu    "slot2; aups"
    alias opxmenu    "say_team xmenu"
    <!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    i think nobody would ever use this script but i have lots of free-time at the moment <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tounge.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":p" border="0" alt="tounge.gif" />

    i generally made this when i started playing ns and i didnt like the <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/asrifle.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="::asrifle::" border="0" alt="asrifle.gif" /> menu
    so i am used to it for years and i never knew it better. actually im quite surprised how well i knew ns in those days <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin-fix.gif" />
  • huhuhhuhuh Join Date: 2005-01-07 Member: 33190Members
    Hum i just read again your post, and I guess I found out another meaning to your request : you'd like to, just by pressing one button, be able to gorge+regen+adren+sof ( for example ) so that while doing that you could just look at the minimap and make say teams and all...

    I don't have this stuff, but just by thinking about it I don't think it's possible to do it by pressing only one button you know, and i'm wondering why it worked in old versions. All I see would be something that wouldn't allow you to use the minimap or make say_teams, so hum... just evolve ? That's Natural Selection <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin-fix.gif" />D

    Hum i just read again your post, and I guess I found out another meaning to your request : you'd like to, just by pressing one button, be able to gorge+regen+adren+sof ( for example ) so that while doing that you could just look at the minimap and make say teams and all...

    I don't have this stuff, but just by thinking about it I don't think it's possible to do it by pressing only one button you know, and i'm wondering why it worked in old versions. All I see would be something that wouldn't allow you to use the minimap or make say_teams, so hum... just evolve ? That's Natural Selection <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin-fix.gif" />D
  • UnderwhelmedUnderwhelmed DemoDetective #?&#33; Join Date: 2006-09-19 Member: 58026Members, Constellation
    Alienmenu.cfg
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->
    //aliases
    alias "cel" "impulse 107"
    alias "adr" "impulse 108"
    alias "sil" "impulse 109"

    alias "car" "impulse 101"
    alias "reg" "impulse 102"
    alias "red" "impulse 103"


    alias "clo" "impulse 110"
    alias "foc" "impulse 111"
    alias "sce" "impulse 112"

    alias "skulk" "impulse 113;"
    alias "gorge" "impulse 114; exec gorgemenu.cfg"
    alias "lerk" "impulse 115;"
    alias "fade" "impulse 116;"
    alias "onos" "impulse 117;"

    //binding
    bind "kp_ins" "skulk"
    bind "kp_del" "gorge"
    bind "kp_enter" "lerk"
    bind "kp_plus" "fade"
    bind "kp_minus" "onos"

    bind "kp_home" "cel"
    bind "kp_uparrow" "sil"
    bind "kp_pgup" "adr"

    bind "kp_leftarrow" "foc"
    bind "kp_5" "sce"
    bind "kp_rightarrow" "clo"

    bind "kp_end" "reg"
    bind "kp_downarrow" "car"
    bind "kp_pgdn" "red" <!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->
    //aliases
    alias "rt" "impulse 90"
    alias "oc" "impulse 91"
    alias "hive" "impulse 95; say_team Hive dropped"

    alias "dc" "impulse 92"
    alias "mc" "impulse 94"
    alias "sc" "impulse 93"

    //binding
    bind "kp_ins" "rt"
    bind "kp_del" "oc"
    bind "kp_enter" "hive"

    bind "kp_home" "mc"
    bind "kp_uparrow" "mc"
    bind "kp_pgup" "mc"

    bind "kp_leftarrow" "sc"
    bind "kp_5" "sc"
    bind "kp_rightarrow" "sc"

    bind "kp_end" "dc"
    bind "kp_downarrow" "dc"
    bind "kp_pgdn" "dc"
    <!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    This is what I use.
  • SariselSarisel .::&#39; ( O ) &#39;;:-. .-.:;&#39; ( O ) &#39;::. Join Date: 2003-07-30 Member: 18557Members, Constellation
    To OP: Basically your script is useless because of mp_bs 1 but, foremost, because you can't execute commands in sequence like that with your xenorush alias. This shouldn't have even worked before - maybe you are delusional.

    There are two solutions for combos like your desired xenorush:

    1. Bind three keys to carapace, celerity, sof and hit them in sequence as you finish evolving.
    2. Use a macro program to make a macro to execute the commands in sequence with the appropriate delay in-between. Then you could bind that macro to one key.

    The latter is probably the one that you want.
Sign In or Register to comment.