Common Problems in NS

Lt_PatchLt_Patch Join Date: 2005-02-07 Member: 40286Posts: 1,229Members
edited March 2007 in Tech Support
Read this before posting. Contains common problems and direct fixes
Ok, it's about time Tech Support had a "Common Problems" page, and I'm gonna bite the bullet and make it...

Here's the current list of common problems that are covered in this topic. It's also, unavoidably long...
They'll all be posted in this first posting, with fixes being added to both the latest post, and this one...

I'll present them like so...

1. <Issue>...
<otherwise known as, usually specific errors when available>
<known causes>
<known fixes>

Please, make sure you check each section, and look at the "AKA"s for them all, as you problem may be listed as an "aka"
Ok? So here we go...

== List Section ==
1. Natural Selection installation issues (aka "Setup has not detected a valid Steam installation")
2. Natural Selection, and 64-Bit Operating Systems (aka "Your display does not support downloadable gamma", black HUD sprites, Green scoreboard text) THIS SECTION COVERS ALL VERSION OF VISTA, WINDOWS SERVER 2003, AND WINDOWS XP PROFESSION 64-BIT EDITION
3. Microphone not recording properly (aka "Dude, I can't hear you")
4. FPS Drops, and Mouse lag
5. Keypad binding issues
6. Natural Selection v3.2, and Custom Models
7. SteamID Ticket Problems (aka "Error verifying STEAM UserID ticket.")
8. Mismatched DLL file (aka "Your dll [cl_dlls/client.dll] differs from the server")

-List ends-

== Issues not covered by this post ==
1. Problem exiting NS, crashing at the menu when exiting.
Link: http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index....showtopic=99609
Reason: Problem was reported during the 3.2 beta, with no system information to back this up.
2. Maximising a windowed, non-fullscreen NS.
Link: http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index....howtopic=100413
Reason: Not really a problem, more of a niche thing, unrelated to NS specifically, aethestic issue

== Expansion Section ==

== 1. Natural Selection installation issues. ==
Also known as:
"Setup has not detected a valid Steam installation"

Causes:
1. Steam isn't installed on this PC in a detectable fashion
2. Half-Life isn't installed on this PC

Fixes:
1. Steam isn't installed on this PC in a detectable fashion
Download a fresh copy of Steam from http://www.steampowered.com/v/index.php?ar...amnow&cc=GB , and install as usual. Login to your Steam account, and download a fresh copy of the pre-requisite files for Natural Selection.

2. Half-Life isn't installed on this PC
You need to make sure of 2 things. 1, that you do have Half-Life properly bound to your account and 2, that you have actually downloaded the files for Half-Life, and played through the Training Course AS A BARE MINIMUM.
If you don't own Half-Life (the original version, NOT Half-Life: Source, or Half-Life 2), then you need to go out, and buy yourself a copy of it. It's carried by all good stores that stock video games, and is also carried by all major online retailers. You can also purchase it direct through Steam, using either a credit card (all of the world), or using a PayPal account (except in Germany, at the current moment).
If you do own Half-life, and have bound the CD-Key to your Steam account, then Steam will automatically download the files required to play the game.


== 2. Natural Selection, and 64-Bit Operating Systems. ==
Also known as:
"Your display does not support downloadable gamma"
Black sprites on the HUD
Green scoreboard text

Causes:
1. The Half-Life Gamma Ramp isn't compatible with your display drivers.

Fixes:
1. The Half-Life Gamma Ramp isn't compatible with your display drivers.
This problem is caused by the Gamma Ramp method being incompatible with the 64-bit display drivers. They handle gamma in a way which wasn't around when Half-Life was made, way back when. What you will need to do is twofold.
First of all, open up the command console (default key: ` or ~), and type the following:
CODE
cl_gammaramp 0

That will disable the gamma ramp, leaving you to set it yourself. Obviously, this will lower the gamma dramatically. Then, what you need to do is to find the display options (under Options -> Video), and adjust the gamma upwards (Gamma slider is at the bottom right of the video options page). Then click Ok, which will then restart NS. Connect to your usual servers, and play away, with the proper display methods being used smile-fix.gif


== 3. Microphone not recording correctly. ==
Also known as:
"Dude, I can't hear you"

Causes:
1. Microphone hardware issues
2. Soundcard issues
3. Windows Volume Control issues
4. Voice Transmit volume is too low

Fixes:
1. Microphone hardware issues.
Check all possible connections, ensuring that the physical connector is both plugged into the correct hole, and that the connection is clean, free from static influences, and fingerprints. Clean the microphone jack with a soft cloth, then tap the end on an unpainted part of your case, when it's plugged into the mains. This will both rule out the possibility of a dirty connector, and any possible static buildup. Also, ensure that your microphone is actually plugged into the right connection, which is usually coloured PINK.

2. Soundcard issues.
Ensure that all drivers are correctly installed, and that the problem is unique to NS. This can be tested by playing a different game, either another Half-Life mod, or a different engine altogether. If the problem isn't unique to NS, then try installing the newest drivers for your soundcard, downloadable from the manufacturer's website.

3. Windows Volume Control issues.
Ensure that the microphone volume isn't muted in the volume control, under Windows, accessible via Start -> Run -> "Sndvol32". Ensure that the microphone volume isn't at 0, and that it isn't muted.

4. Voice Transmit volume is too low.
Check the voice transmit volume in NS, via Options -> Voice. Ensure that there is a check in "Enable Voice communication in this game", and that the Voice Transmit slider is turned up. Finally, click on Test Microphone to ensure the settings are ok. You should hear your own voice, and the visual EQ bar will move to the right.


== 4. FPS Drops, and Mouse lag. ==
Also known as:
n/a

Causes:
1. October 25th 2006 Steam update

Fixes:
1. October 25th 2006 Steam update
A posting by a Steam forum moderator has pinpointed this issue to be rare at best, but prevailent nonetheless. An update to the GoldSrc engine (the underlying technology behind the Half-Life game) has apparently caused this issue. The suggested fix, is to lower the thread priority of hl.exe to "low". Full post can be found http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/show...ad.php?t=502112 .

== 5. Keypad binding issues. ==
Also known as:
n/a

Causes:
1. Manual binding via command console, or config.cfg/userconfig.cfg

Fixes:
1. Manual binding via command console, or confg.cfg/userconfig.cfg
The keypad command console binders are listed as kp_<secondary function>, as in what is written in the small print on the keys. For example, 0 on the number pad, becomes kp_ins, as "ins" is written on the key, usually in a smaller font to the 0. See this topic for a full listing of number pad, or keypad binds.


== 6. Natural Selection v3.2, and Custom Models ==
Also known as:
n/a

Causes:
1. Apparent changes to the model nomenclature.

Fixes:
1. Apparent changes to the model nomenclature.
In NS 3.2 the naming system for the models has apparently changed. This is unconfirmed, but the issue was reported during the beta, about high-poly models not working, apparently causing either a crash to desktop, or NS refusing to connect to any server. At the time of writing (March 3rd 2007) there are no known fixes, other than to wait for the custom model releasers to update their packs, with the new naming system. I will ask for an official confirmation/answer about this issue, and will update when I get it.


== 7. SteamID Ticket problems ==
Also known as:
Error verifying STEAM UserID ticket.
Causes:
1. Temporary Steam network issues
2. Damaged Steam files

Fixes:
These are to be done in the following order...
1. Temporary Steam network issues.
A general hiccup has happened on the Steam conenction, and is misreporting your SteamID credentials. When this happens, the Steam master server rejects your connection, and disconnects you from the server. This tends to happen more with VAC enabled servers (which covers nearly all of them), than it does with VAC insecure ones (about 0.01% of servers). Exit Steam, by right-clicking on the system tray icon, then clicking Exit. Reopen Steam, and try again.
2. Damaged Steam files.
If the above fix doesn't work, the 3 of the Steam files may have become corrupted. Close Steam fully, as above, then browse to the following directory (on a default installation) "C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\". Delete the following files, Steam.dll, SteamUI.dll, and clientregistry.blob, then reopen Steam. Steam will detect these files are missing, and will redownload them from the Steam network. This should then fix the problem, if not, then the Steam network itself may be down. Then you just need to wait until they repair the problem with the network.


== 8. Mismatched DLL File ==
Also known as:
Your dll [cl_dlls/client.dll] differs from the server

Causes:
1. Wrong version of Natural Selection

Fixes:
1. Wrong version of Natural Selection
This is common following a new client version, your regular servers will have updated to the new version, but you haven't yet. Check you're using the latest version of NS, by going here. The latest version at the time of writing is v.3.2. Close Steam, and follow the instructions for installing the new version. Restart Steam at the end of it, and play as normal. If you do come across a server that hasn't yet updated, then you will need for their server owner to update the serverside version that they run.


== End of Expansion Section ==

Hopefully, that will cover just about any problems caused. If there are any further issues, then please, post a new topic in this forum, with as much info about your issue as is humanly reasonable. One line problems are less likely to be solved, unless it's a common problem, which means it will be covered in this topic.

If someone could sticky this, it'd be great...

Have fun out there smile-fix.gif
Post edited by Unknown User on
Teh Nubnos!
Rabid, Tech Support Nubnos!
QUOTE(Me and Femme)
Me: Ahh, god's greatest gift to man...
Femme: Women?
Me: No, the beer, stupid!!!
Femme: Bah...

Everything I do, I do it for teh lulz :D

The one man, dodgy rules hunter-killer
«1

Comments

  • SwiftSwift Lost Keys Join Date: 2005-02-19 Member: 41683Posts: 510Members, Constellation
    Sticky this immediatly.
    image
  • Cosmic_FlareCosmic_Flare Join Date: 2007-03-07 Member: 60276Posts: 37Members
    AMEN Lt. PAtch.

    AMEN. biggrin-fix.gif
    image
  • shewolfshewolf Join Date: 2008-08-02 Member: 64746Posts: 4Members
    i have a question how to we get the wtp files...we have downloaded a number of maps but there are no wtp files....help?confused-fix.gif please?confused-fix.gif
  • FaskaliaFaskalia Wechsellichtzeichenanlage Join Date: 2004-09-12 Member: 31651Posts: 2,405Members, Constellation
    QUOTE(shewolf @ Aug 2 2008, 06:38 AM) »
    i have a question how to we get the wtp files...we have downloaded a number of maps but there are no wtp files....help?confused-fix.gif please?confused-fix.gif

    Over a year!

    Do you mean waypoint files for whichbot/rcbot ?
    You can either make those yourself by using the bots menues or you can download them of the web. If you are lucky someone already made waypoints for the maps you want to use bots with.

    You best bet would be to ask someone over at http://www.nsmod.org/forums/.

    Or just ask depot directly. He probaly has those wpts stocked, high up tounge.gif
    QUOTE(TychoCelchuuu @ Jul 30 2008, 03:51 PM) »
    The only similarity to Ground Control is that instead of arriving from a building, your dudes arrive from the sky. Why does that merit a meh?
    QUOTE(puzl @ Apr 20 2007, 04:38 PM) »
    You can mince it anyway you like, but if a government can take it a way then it doesn't really matter if it is a right or a privilege, does it?
  • shewolfshewolf Join Date: 2008-08-02 Member: 64746Posts: 4Members
    Im having trouble signing up on there site. could someone ask this guy depot about way points for me? since i cant get signed up on there site. or if anyone has any please let me know. we use whichbot

    thanks
  • ThansalThansal The New Scum Join Date: 2002-08-22 Member: 1215Posts: 10,571Members, Constellation
    he has an account here, just shoot him a PM

    http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showuser=7956
    <Eternaly_Lost> Me and lolfighter are lovers
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411Members
    QUOTE(shewolf @ Aug 4 2008, 02:25 AM) »
    Im having trouble signing up on there site. could someone ask this guy depot about way points for me? since i cant get signed up on there site. or if anyone has any please let me know. we use whichbot

    thanks

    We get three or four registrations daily, so I know the system is working. Can you PM me here and give me more details?

    As to the Whichbot waypoints, you have to dig to find them. Some are located here, but they seem to be for NS 3.1 and older. I located some for 3.2 in this post covering co_umbra ns_caged ns_eclipse ns_altair ns_nancy ns_eon ns_veil ns_shiva ns_origin ns_lucid. Good Sites to get Waypoints for All bots.

    Hope this helps. smile-fix.gif
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • killer14killer14 Join Date: 2008-11-11 Member: 65426Posts: 2Members
    ok i just down loaded it to day 11-11-08 but when i join a server it says "Softwere mode not supported by natural selection." im so confused HELP i miss this gane so much....
  • DarknsDarkns Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31402Posts: 134Members, Constellation
    NS only runs properly in OpenGL mode.
    You should just have to change that under video settings and it should work fine.
    Co-Leader of clan X-Fall
    Developer on ModNS (Darkness)
  • killer14killer14 Join Date: 2008-11-11 Member: 65426Posts: 2Members
    QUOTE(Darkns @ Nov 12 2008, 04:08 AM) »
    NS only runs properly in OpenGL mode.
    You should just have to change that under video settings and it should work fine.

    YES it works THHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNKKKKKKKKKKKKK you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  • dlebl21dlebl21 Join Date: 2009-06-24 Member: 67914Posts: 2Members
    edited June 2009
    Hey I just installed ns32, restarted steam and it doesn't show up under my games. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling but it still didn't work. I have steam and HL Source installed already (does it need to be pre-source?). Although the installation did try to create an extra folder in my steamapps that wasn't in my steam account folder with the rest of my games that actually show up when I start steam. Any ideas on how I can get this to work?

    Thanks
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • FaskaliaFaskalia Wechsellichtzeichenanlage Join Date: 2004-09-12 Member: 31651Posts: 2,405Members, Constellation
    QUOTE (dlebl21 @ Jun 24 2009, 09:02 PM) »
    Hey I just installed ns32, restarted steam and it doesn't show up under my games. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling but it still didn't work. I have steam and HL Source installed already (does it need to be pre-source?). Although the installation did try to create an extra folder in my steamapps that wasn't in my steam account folder with the rest of my games that actually show up when I start steam. Any ideas on how I can get this to work?

    Thanks


    you need HL, not HL:S
    QUOTE(TychoCelchuuu @ Jul 30 2008, 03:51 PM) »
    The only similarity to Ground Control is that instead of arriving from a building, your dudes arrive from the sky. Why does that merit a meh?
    QUOTE(puzl @ Apr 20 2007, 04:38 PM) »
    You can mince it anyway you like, but if a government can take it a way then it doesn't really matter if it is a right or a privilege, does it?
  • dlebl21dlebl21 Join Date: 2009-06-24 Member: 67914Posts: 2Members
    edited June 2009
    Thanks dude, that fixed it. But now I have another problem. Every now and then when there's a ot going on (i.e. a firefight), NS freezes and whatever split second bit of sound that was going on when it froze repeats in a loop. I have to hit control-alt-delete to get out of the game. Anyone know why it does that?

    Also, just tried commanding, and the entire build menu at the bottom is completely black for some reason, any ideas? =/
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • amx_joptamx_jopt Join Date: 2009-07-10 Member: 68103Posts: 2Members
    H1 i am from Latvia. when i try connection i whas throw and the following text is Couldnt not connected to server.
    What i need to do?
  • FaskaliaFaskalia Wechsellichtzeichenanlage Join Date: 2004-09-12 Member: 31651Posts: 2,405Members, Constellation
    QUOTE (dlebl21 @ Jun 25 2009, 04:19 AM) »
    Thanks dude, that fixed it. But now I have another problem. Every now and then when there's a ot going on (i.e. a firefight), NS freezes and whatever split second bit of sound that was going on when it froze repeats in a loop. I have to hit control-alt-delete to get out of the game. Anyone know why it does that?

    Also, just tried commanding, and the entire build menu at the bottom is completely black for some reason, any ideas? =/


    cl_gammaramp 0

    will fix the black command menu
    QUOTE(TychoCelchuuu @ Jul 30 2008, 03:51 PM) »
    The only similarity to Ground Control is that instead of arriving from a building, your dudes arrive from the sky. Why does that merit a meh?
    QUOTE(puzl @ Apr 20 2007, 04:38 PM) »
    You can mince it anyway you like, but if a government can take it a way then it doesn't really matter if it is a right or a privilege, does it?
  • amx_joptamx_jopt Join Date: 2009-07-10 Member: 68103Posts: 2Members
    plzz help!
  • marthmarth Join Date: 2009-12-13 Member: 69634Posts: 2Members
    "== 1. Natural Selection installation issues. ==
    Also known as:
    "Setup has not detected a valid Steam installation"

    Causes:
    1. Steam isn't installed on this PC in a detectable fashion
    2. Half-Life isn't installed on this PC"




    well, i HAVE steam installed, and i HAVE Half-Life and Team Fortress 2 installed TOO, and i still have this problem.
    have any ideia how i can fix this problem?
  • ThansalThansal The New Scum Join Date: 2002-08-22 Member: 1215Posts: 10,571Members, Constellation
    QUOTE (marth @ Dec 13 2009, 01:57 PM) »
    "== 1. Natural Selection installation issues. ==
    Also known as:
    "Setup has not detected a valid Steam installation"

    Causes:
    1. Steam isn't installed on this PC in a detectable fashion
    2. Half-Life isn't installed on this PC"




    well, i HAVE steam installed, and i HAVE Half-Life and Team Fortress 2 installed TOO, and i still have this problem.
    have any ideia how i can fix this problem?



    If you get that error, you don't have HL installed through steam.
    Possible errors:
    1) Half Life, not HL:S, or HL2
    2) Not actually installed via Steam (download it from steam)
    3) Not FULLY installed (fire up HL and play the hazard course)
    4) Not actually installed, simply Copied from another location, or you reinstalled windows. The files are all there, and they work, but it isn't installed in Windows, so the installer goes "I need the path for this" and windows goes "what?"
    <Eternaly_Lost> Me and lolfighter are lovers
  • marthmarth Join Date: 2009-12-13 Member: 69634Posts: 2Members
    thxx!
    i dont have Half Life, only Half Life 2.
  • Ero SenninEro Sennin Join Date: 2010-02-04 Member: 70425Posts: 1Members
    hello, i just downloaded NS and i have only opposing force. so i want to know will it work with ns?
  • ThansalThansal The New Scum Join Date: 2002-08-22 Member: 1215Posts: 10,571Members, Constellation
    QUOTE (Ero Sennin @ Feb 4 2010, 08:05 AM) »
    hello, i just downloaded NS and i have only opposing force. so i want to know will it work with ns?

    Nope.

    Go buy HL.
    <Eternaly_Lost> Me and lolfighter are lovers
  • DABEL_3DABEL_3 Join Date: 2008-03-28 Member: 63987Posts: 3Members
    hi i got problem with server browser i try to refresh it and after 30 minutes nothing happend i tryed that in half-life and CS and other mods but doesnt work only in few mods it work like in insurgency and hidden so i think its maybe only related to half-life mods any help?
  • DrummerDrummer Join Date: 2004-02-18 Member: 26654Posts: 840Members
    i have this problem too, there is a work-around for it though until a real fix is made. the steam server browser, the one you can open with just steam running should still let you view and connect to ns servers.
    image
    It's true. I love to crush the hopes and dreams of others, and feed off their tears.

    --Cory
  • yowutisyowutis Join Date: 2010-02-20 Member: 70657Posts: 4Members
    im having major problems with ns and hl everytime i try to join a server or create one the game freezes so i cant play either game and im forced to use task manager and close them what can i do?
  • ABabyEaterABabyEater Join Date: 2012-01-24 Member: 141905Posts: 3Members
    edited January 2012
    I am having a problem similar to that of yowutis, but not quite the same.

    After starting NS2 and joining a server, as well as after the connection is made, I go into a blank black screen with the build number in the upper left hand corner.

    My brother owns NS2 and has informed me that this is when the game lobby should load, but it doesn't.

    Attached is my DxDiag


    EDIT: I just realized that I posted in the NS1 section, not the NS2 section like I needed to, please disregard this post.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • DanBriggs92DanBriggs92 Join Date: 2012-04-06 Member: 150016Posts: 1Members
    I am having issues with my pop-up menu, namely whenever I hit/hold the key bound to open the menu it will not open--nothing, zilch, nada, it refuses to display or anything.
    if anyone know how to fix this it would be greatly appreciated.
  • tschumanntschumann Join Date: 2010-05-26 Member: 71862Posts: 189Members
    Which menu in what gamemode?
    What are your specs?
  • camacho027camacho027 Join Date: 2009-04-04 Member: 67038Posts: 1Members
    I still have this problem 1. Natural Selection installation issues (aka "Setup has not detected a valid Steam installation")
  • tschumanntschumann Join Date: 2010-05-26 Member: 71862Posts: 189Members
    Do you have Half-Life? Have you run it?
  • Ratboy93xxRatboy93xx Join Date: 2012-07-21 Member: 154279Posts: 1Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited July 2012
    Pardon me, but I have a problem with my NS1 copy right now, Installed it four months ago and it ran great. Then i decided to play around with the video settngs and see if I coud boost up th graphics anymore. Big mistake. I ended up crashing my game about a month ago and I have not been able to find a fix either in the forums or on a search engine. Now whenever I try to launch the game it show a mini version of the main menu for a split second, the screen then goes black and just plays the first bit of the title music repeatedley. I have tried a complete re-install of both HL1 and NS1, and neither of those has worked either. So now im out of ideas on how to fix this. Help please?
    Post edited by Unknown User on
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.