Kind Of Complicated Door And Elevator Question

SiliconSilicon Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Members
I have two questions:

Question 1:
I have two sets of doors triggered by trigger_presence and an elevator (triggered by pressing a button) and I want them only to be able to be used after a func_weldable has been welded.

Question 2:
How do I prevent my elevator from being stopped while it is in motion but any button that controls/calls it?

Comments

  • ReeseReese Join Date: 2003-05-08 Member: 16143Members
    I believe you can fix your elevator problem by having both buttons target a trigger_relay. That will then target your actual elevator. It has a delay before retrigger field which can be set equal to the amount of time it takes the elevator to move. Problem is that only works for a two-floor elevator. If that's all you got this should solve your problem though.

    Anything more than two floors takes a lot more doing. there's a tutorial on collective.valve-erc.com which might help you. Do a search on the word elevator and you should be able to find it.
  • SiliconSilicon Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Members
    edited February 2004
    k, thanks. but I gave up on that valve-erc tutorial because it's too complicated for me.

    So I got a new question, I am using a toggling func_plat for my elevator now, I want a func_button to travel WITH it, I unselected the 'do not move' button but the button doesn't move with the elevator.

    edit 1: I have fixed my second problem with using multi_manager and multisource entities (so I am removing it from my post) but still having problems with the buttons not moving with the func_plat.
  • ShenTraXShenTraX Join Date: 2003-11-10 Member: 22434Members, Constellation
    edited February 2004
    cant 'move with'

    only Spirit of HalfLife does that, which is UNSUPPOTERD by NS.

    sorry, it'll have to stationary.

    <i>edit:</i>

    You'll have to do it the complicated way.. OR if its only a two story elevator, you could make it a func_door.
  • AzraielAzraiel Join Date: 2003-01-27 Member: 12868Members
    one thing to to is make the button solid with the eleavtor, and create the real button so it is invisible and intangible on top of the button. im not quite sure how to do that, but ive heard it said before.
  • ShenTraXShenTraX Join Date: 2003-11-10 Member: 22434Members, Constellation
    you could do that.

    the button attached to the elevator wouldn't actually be a button, but just a brush attached to the eleveator... the texture wouln't toggle like a regular button would, so i'd give it a generic computer keypad or screen texture. Then you would make the real button invisible

    lemmie try to sketch

    =========
    i..................i
    2f................i
    i..............x..i
    =========
    i..............x..i
    i..............x..i
    i..............x..i
    i..............x..i
    i..............x..i
    i..............x..i
    =========
    i..............x..i
    1f............x..i
    ...............x..i
    -_-_-_-_-[x]_i


    the -_-_-_ would be the elevator with [x] being the fake button
    the
    x
    x
    x
    x
    x
    is the invisible button that runs the lenght of the shaft, and is invisible.
    the
    i....................i
    symbolizes the shaft
    and the
    ===========
    ===========
    symbolizes the floors/roof
  • SiliconSilicon Join Date: 2003-02-18 Member: 13683Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Azraiel+Feb 13 2004, 11:38 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Azraiel @ Feb 13 2004, 11:38 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> one thing to to is make the button solid with the eleavtor, and create the real button so it is invisible and intangible on top of the button. im not quite sure how to do that, but ive heard it said before. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I like the way you think Azraiel, thanks <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • AzraielAzraiel Join Date: 2003-01-27 Member: 12868Members
    Im not sure how to take that, so I'll take it as a compliment hehe. Now that i think about it, the button holds it place so all you need to do is make it out of like a clip brush. Then, when they use the "button" they will use the real one, the fake one will travel up with the elevator, and there you have another button so that when the use the "button" the same thing happens. Ta da.
  • PlaguebearerPlaguebearer Join Date: 2002-03-21 Member: 338Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    edited February 2004
    For the buttons, I use doors textured with {BLUE and set to SOLID rendermode, so they're invisible. Flagged as passable, so nobody gets hung up on them when the platform is moved out of position (ie, there's no solid invisible button hanging in midair to get stuck on) and set to use-only.
Sign In or Register to comment.