Turret Limit Plugin

prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
edited August 2003 in General Server Discussion
<div class="IPBDescription">Limited turrets per factory</div> This metamod plugin allows you to limit the number of turrets that can be supported by each turret factory. This number can be different for advanced turret factories, and sieges can also be limited.

Note that it will not stop the commander placing more turrets than can be supported by a factory, but it will prevent the extra turrets from tracking and firing. Which turrets are deactivated in this case depends on the order they are processed and can not be guaranteed; in all my testing, though, later placed turrets deactivated first. If an active turret is recycled or destroyed then an inactive turret will activate and take its place. The overlapping area between two turret factories is correctly handled.

The plugin should be installed like any other metamod plugin, and makes available four new cvar's:
<ul>
<li>prs_turrets
How many turrets a basic turret factory can support.
Default value: 8
<li>prs_adv_turrets
How many turrets an advanced turret factory can support.
Default value: 12
<li>prs_adv_sieges
How many siege turrets an advanced turret factory can support.
Default value: 2
<li>prs_checktime
The number of seconds between updates. This is the maximum time taken for a turret to activate or deactivate. Make sure it is greater than zero.
Default value: 5
</ul>
The plugin is available here: <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/' target='_blank'>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/</a> along with source code. Bugs should be reported to pr.searle@ntlworld.com

<b> *** Edit:</b> Version 3.0 is available <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/' target='_blank'>here</a> and does prevent the commander from placing extra turrets. It also adds another cvar: prs_hive_complete, which when set to one will play a "hive construction complete" sound when a hive is fully built.

Comments

  • sk84zer0sk84zer0 Join Date: 2003-06-18 Member: 17478Members
    Great Job, but i think the max siege should be 3 or 4
  • JoeBlowJoeBlow Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12899Members
    do you have a linux compile of it by chance?
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--JoeBlow+Aug 24 2003, 08:21 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (JoeBlow @ Aug 24 2003, 08:21 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->do you have a linux compile of it by chance?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Not yet; give me a few hours to install linux and I'll see what I can do. The source is available if you want to try compiling it yourself.
  • AndyonceAndyonce Join Date: 2003-08-16 Member: 19799Members
    I compiled it for Linux, but untested:
    <a href='http://gimli.dyndns.info/~andy/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz' target='_blank'>http://gimli.dyndns.info/~andy/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz</a>
  • BryBry Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Members
    I really like the idea of this plugin however, i think it would be far better if once the maximum number of turrets had been reached you simply could not place any mroe turrets until you built/uprgaded more TF's

    Voogru had a build limit plugin for 1.04 that worked like this however his was limited to a global max number of items not on a per tf basis
  • JoeBlowJoeBlow Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12899Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Andyonce+Aug 24 2003, 04:42 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Andyonce @ Aug 24 2003, 04:42 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I compiled it for Linux, but untested:
    <a href='http://gimli.dyndns.info/~andy/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz' target='_blank'>http://gimli.dyndns.info/~andy/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz</a> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks, I'll give it a try tonight and tell you if it works.
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Bry+Aug 25 2003, 02:03 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Bry @ Aug 25 2003, 02:03 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I really like the idea of this plugin however, i think it would be far better if once the maximum number of turrets had been reached you simply could not place any mroe turrets until you built/uprgaded more TF's

    Voogru had a build limit plugin for 1.04 that worked like this however his was limited to a global max number of items not on a per tf basis<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Voogru's plugin worked by blocking the "build turret" impulse if too many turets existed. Unfortunatly the turret's location is needed to check for valid turret factories, and I can't see any way of getting this location during an impulse command. I will keep looking through.

    As far as I know this plugin should work alongside Voogru's BuildLimit plugin. BuildLimit restricts the total number of turrets, while FactoryLimit enforces a per-factory maximum. If anyone encounters problems using the two together, let me know.

    With regards to a Linux binary, I currently have no way of compiling and testing one. Until this situation changes, I'm afraid you will either have to compile it yourself or use Andyonce's <a href='http://gimli.dyndns.info/~andy/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz' target='_blank'>untested version</a>, mirrored <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/ns/factorylimit_1.0.tar.gz' target='_blank'>here</a>.
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    Thanks to some info from Flayra, the commander is now prevented from placing more turrets than can be supported. Note that nothing prevents a commander from placing two turret factories and building more turrets; however, if one of the factories is destroyed or recycled the extra turrets will shutdown. The bug that sometimes prevented "cleanse the intruders" from playing on round start has also been fixed.

    The new version is available <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/' target='_blank'>here</a> in win32 or source code. If you want a Linux version, I'm afraid you will either have to compile it yourself or use Andoyances 1.0 binary (1.0 will not prevent the commander from placing extra turrets and lacks the hive complete notification).
  • JoeBlowJoeBlow Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12899Members
    what is the difference between 2.0 and 3.0?
  • SinSpawnSinSpawn Harbinger of Suffering Join Date: 2002-11-12 Member: 8359Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--sk84zer0+Aug 24 2003, 08:24 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (sk84zer0 @ Aug 24 2003, 08:24 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Great Job, but i think the max siege should be 3 or 4 <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Please, thats enoug hto take out a hive, max should be 2, and a TF should be 6-7
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--JoeBlow+Aug 28 2003, 10:14 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (JoeBlow @ Aug 28 2003, 10:14 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->what is the difference between 2.0 and 3.0?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    2.0 will not stop the commander from placing more turrets than the factory can support; 3.0 does. Also there was a small bug in 2.0 where aliens would occasionally hear "our hive is complete" instead of "cleanse the intruders". 3.0 fixes this.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Please, thats enoug hto take out a hive, max should be 2, and a TF should be 6-7<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    The values can be changed by the server admins to whatever they feel more appropriate. Once changed, the new values will become effective within seconds.
  • DrekDrek Join Date: 2002-12-19 Member: 11165Members
    edited August 2003
    I'm using this plugin together with Build Limit (and a bunch of other plugins). I'm having problems with the marine com. At one point last night clicking on any marine buildable would recycle it. Just wondering if anyone else was having similar problems.

    Another problem I am having is simply placing turrets at the beginning. I build my first turret factory, then I can't build any turrets...
  • SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    4 onos can own 30 turrets in 2.01d
  • DrekDrek Join Date: 2002-12-19 Member: 11165Members
    After further testing this is what I discovered using version 3.0 of this plugin.

    - I couldn't place any turrets.
    - I couldn't drop any weapons.
    - Other plugins such as Manual Siege seemed to be blocked, and didn't work properly.

    So basically, while the plugin is a great idea, and I'd love to use it, I can't seem to get it working... <!--emo&::nerdy::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/nerd.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='nerd.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • BryBry Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Members
    This plugin is great but it has bugs.

    It does not work at all to begin with. Sometimes you need to build 2 TF's before it will allow any sentries to be built. Also ive had reports of eletricifying TF's causing a problem.

    Any chance of a serious bug fix please?
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    I'm currently working on an updated version that should fix all the problems people have been having. In the meantime, there's a version modified by Stu that seems to work well enough for the Skulkrush.com servers. It can be found <a href='http://www.modns.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=32&view=findpost&p=149' target='_blank'>here</a>.
  • DrekDrek Join Date: 2002-12-19 Member: 11165Members
    I'm going to have to wait for your version. The only binary he has is Linux, I run a Windows server, and I don't believe I have any way of compiling in C++.
  • BryBry Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Drek+Sep 4 2003, 11:36 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Drek @ Sep 4 2003, 11:36 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I'm going to have to wait for your version. The only binary he has is Linux, I run a Windows server, and I don't believe I have any way of compiling in C++. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Yep same here
  • StuStu Join Date: 2003-03-19 Member: 14705Members
    I'm currently testing what (so far) seems to be a completely working bug free version of the plugin, up on the <a href='http://www.skulkrush.com/' target='_blank'>SkulkRush</a> servers. If it gets through Friday without any crashes, I'll post the source so someone can compile a Win32 version.

    Best regards,
    Stu
  • jabsjabs Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10773Members
    Any feedback about this? I'd really like a version that works.
  • StuStu Join Date: 2003-03-19 Member: 14705Members
    Yeah <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> I took the plugin off halfway through Friday; things were not working quite as expected. I haven't given up on it; I just need a quieter afternoon to really look at this again. Now that all the kids are back in school over here, I should have a bit more time for this.

    Best regards,
    Stu
  • DEADscottDEADscott Join Date: 2003-03-29 Member: 15022Members, Constellation
    We really would like this on our server. Thanks for the work your putting into it!
  • jabsjabs Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10773Members
    I have 2 questions:

    1. Was there ever a version of this that worked well? Meaning, did version 1 or 2 at least limit the turrets per tf?

    2. Does anyone have a link to that voogru build limit plugin? I couldn't find it on their site.
  • prsearleprsearle Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2365Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--jabs+Sep 10 2003, 05:12 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (jabs @ Sep 10 2003, 05:12 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I have 2 questions:

    1.  Was there ever a version of this that worked well?  Meaning, did version 1 or 2 at least limit the turrets per tf?

    2.  Does anyone have a link to that voogru build limit plugin?  I couldn't find it on their site.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Version 1 and 2 allowed the commander to build as many turrets as he wanted, but prevented the extra ones from working. The only difference between version 1 and version 2 is the "Hive complete" notification. More details can be found <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pr.searle/' target='_blank'>here</a>.

    Voogru's build limit plugin can be downloaded from <a href='http://www.voogru.com/files/BuildLimit_MM.zip' target='_blank'>here</a>.
  • jabsjabs Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10773Members
    Thanks a bunch <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DEADscottDEADscott Join Date: 2003-03-29 Member: 15022Members, Constellation
    Im not trying to highjack this thread, but the Build Limit plugin didnt work for us since 2.01. Does it work for anyone running 2.01?
Sign In or Register to comment.