To The Scripters Out There

NefilimNefilim Join Date: 2003-08-09 Member: 19222Members, Constellation
<div class="IPBDescription">Dual Key Configs</div> Alright, Marines and Aliens vary so much with which keys they need.

Skulks don't need crouch or reload weapon - that's two keys that I could bind to something more useful, like switching to leap/bite.

Fades don't need reload weapon, that could be switching to acid rocket.

Marines don't really need the popup menu, except for the occasional medpack/ammo/in position to call out, which could be binded to the keyboard.

Are there any scripts out there to load up a certain key config when you type it in console? Something like "keycfg skulk" would load up all of the skulk keys. If not, is it scriptable?

Comments

  • MMZ_TorakMMZ_Torak Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3770Members
    What I'd did was to write small cfg's that rebind the weapons appropriately for each lifeform and added in the impluse for each evolve, then bound that to a key.
  • ToastOMatorToastOMator Join Date: 2003-01-05 Member: 11891Members
    e.g.: Wirte a skulk.cfg where you do your bindings for the skulk.
    In the game you can open the console and type:
    exec skulk.cfg to load these bindings
    or type:
    bind s "exec skulk.cfg"
    to bind it to key s.
  • SlighSligh Join Date: 2003-02-08 Member: 13277Members
    I'm not sure if one exists, i would imagine that it would, but i've been searching around and can't find a list of impulses that correspond to the different pop-up menu commands. Could someone point me in the right direction for one of those?

    Not that the pop-up menu is annoying, but it's slow, and anyone that knows how to any basic aliasing could enjoy the game so much more with a list of those commands. Is there a page out there that describes all of them? Thanks.
  • MMZ_TorakMMZ_Torak Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3770Members
    <a href='http://www.ns-central.co.uk/scripting.php' target='_blank'>Clickeh</a> for impluse list.
  • CheesyPetezaCheesyPeteza Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9784Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    This is quite easy to do. Create a text file called commandmenu.txt in your ns folder with the following in it:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->"1" "- Aliens -" "exec aliens.cfg"
    "2" "- Marines -" "exec marines.cfg"
    "3" "- Commander -" "exec commander.cfg"
    "4" "Autoassign" "autoassign"
    "5" "Spectate" "spectate"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    Now create a separate config file for each class:

    <b>aliens.cfg</b>
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->jointeamtwo
    bind "q" "impulse 101"
    bind "a" "impulse 102"
    bind "z" "impulse 103"

    bind "w" "impulse 107"
    bind "s" "impulse 108"
    bind "x" "impulse 109"

    bind "e" "impulse 110"
    bind "d" "impulse 111"
    bind "c" "impulse 112"

    con_notifytime 10
    contimes 13
    developer 1
    echo "------- Defence -------"
    echo "Q - Carapace"
    echo "A - Regeneration"
    echo "Z - Redemption"
    echo "------- Movement -------"
    echo "W - Celerity"
    echo "S - Adrenaline"
    echo "X - Silence"
    echo "------- Sensory -------"
    echo "E - Cloak"
    echo "D - Pheramones"
    echo "C - Scent of Fear"
    developer 0<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    <b>marines.cfg</b>
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->stopcommandermode
    jointeamone
    bind blah blah .....
    bind blah blah .....<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    <b>commander.cfg</b>
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind blah blah .....
    bind blah blah .....<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->


    Make sure you have a key bound to the gui menu <b>(bind "x" "+commandmenu")</b>. Now you can use the menu to select which team to join from the ready room and it will automatically set your keys for you too. Also when in the comm chair if you change to marine keys it will log you out too. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DiscoZombieDiscoZombie Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18951Members
    ignoring the main point of your post, I think I should point out that duck isn't useless for aliens... the most obvious reason being that an onos has to duck rather often to get around a map, and a fade has to duck to get in vents... but even the shorty aliens whose models don't duck -- a gorge has to jump/duck to climb on one of his chambers, as far as I know... a regular jump won't cut it.
  • SlighSligh Join Date: 2003-02-08 Member: 13277Members
    aye, i understand what you're saying, except i use some of those keys for movement, so i wouldn't EVERYTHING bound to a key. For instance, i rarely use the silence movement upgrade, or rarely use redemption, so why waste keys on my alien configs with those? I'd rather have a config for each class: marine, skulk, fade, gorge, etc.

    Aliasing is easy to do. so i can now make an alias that makes a leap/bite or blink/slash, or a devour/gore, etc. Thanks for the list, guys, i appreciate the help
  • biomassbiomass Join Date: 2003-03-15 Member: 14535Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Nefilim+Aug 18 2003, 04:44 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Nefilim @ Aug 18 2003, 04:44 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Skulks don't need crouch or reload weapon - that's two keys that I could bind to something more useful, like switching to leap/bite. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I use crouch all the time as skulk. It makes it easier to bunnyhop sometimes, if you hold it down you wont get stuck if you accidentally hit a wall or an object on the floor. It's also easier to get down when you're clinging to a wall, press duck will release the clinge and you will fall straight down, fast route down long vertical vents =).
  • MMZ_TorakMMZ_Torak Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3770Members
    I wrote a base.cfg that has all the commands that dont change (movement keys, fire key,scoreboard etc) andother smaller cfgs that customise the environment further. I've found that it's easier to edit and make changes the dont screw up the others.

    For example: when I want to play aliens I press f3 which triggers this:
    execs Alien.cfg (exec Base.cfg and skulk.cfg)

    If I want to go gorge I press kp_enter which exec gorge.cfg ( trigers the impluse to go gorge and unbinds the previous "skulk mapping" and remaps my mouse to suit a gorge) ad nasuem.
  • roqaliciousroqalicious Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11981Members
    OMG, skulks DO need crouch. If you are skulking and NOT using crouch you are seriously limiting your potential.
  • altairianaltairian Join Date: 2003-06-18 Member: 17459Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Nefilim+Aug 18 2003, 10:44 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Nefilim @ Aug 18 2003, 10:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Skulks don't need crouch or reload weapon - that's two keys that I could bind to something more useful, like switching to leap/bite.

    Fades don't need reload weapon, that could be switching to acid rocket. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    turn on hud_fastswitch, and hit 1 for bite, 3 for leap, 4 for acid rocket.
    Wow, talk about time saved <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • XodlikeXodlike Join Date: 2003-06-03 Member: 16985Members
    meh i prefer

    <ul>
    bind "MWHEELUP" "slot1"
    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "slot3"
    </ul>
    REAL TIME SAVER FOR SKULK

    I am working on a script where if u have 1 hive only ur MWHEELDOWN will be slot2
  • torment_jtorment_j Join Date: 2003-05-02 Member: 16004Members
    anyone who needs any scripts making, i know every command under the sun.

    for all ur scripting needs: #torment @ quakenet, /msg J-

    it gives me somthing to do. EHEHE. <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • torment_jtorment_j Join Date: 2003-05-02 Member: 16004Members
    edited August 2003
    cheezy that config takes up way too many keys, dont u know how to metabind !?!?!?
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    //press the appropriate upgrade key until the wanted upgrade is shown top left of ur screen followed by kp_enter.
    //defence = 7 on keypad, movment = 8, sensory = 9

    bind "kp_home" "dfn"
    bind "kp_uparrow" "mvt"
    bind "kp_pgup" "sens"
    bind "kp_enter" "select"

    alias reset "alias dfn dfn1; alias mvt mvt1; alias sens sens1"
    alias cara "impulse 101; wait; wait; reset"
    alias regn "impulse 102; wait; wait; reset"
    alias redm "impulse 103; wait; wait; reset"
    alias celr "impulse 107; wait; wait; reset"
    alias adrn "impulse 108; wait; wait; reset"
    alias siln "impulse 109; wait; wait; reset"
    alias clk "impulse 110; wait; wait; reset"
    alias phr "impulse 111; wait; wait; reset"
    alias scnt "impulse 112; wait; wait; reset"
    alias d0 "developer 0"
    alias d1 "developer 1"


    alias dfn "dfn1"
    alias dfn1 "alias select cara; d1; echo -[ Carapace Selected ]-; d0; alias dfn dfn2"
    alias dfn2 "alias select regn; d1; echo -[ Regeneration Selected ]-; d0; alias dfn dfn3"
    alias dfn3 "alias select redm; d1; echo -[ Redemption Selected ]-; d0;  alias dfn dfn1"

    alias mvt "mvt1"
    alias mvt1 "alias select adrn; d1; echo -[ Adrenaline Selected ]-; d0; alias mvt mvt2"
    alias mvt2 "alias select siln; d1; echo -[ Silence Selected ]-; d0; alias mvt mvt3"
    alias mvt3 "alias select celr; d1; echo -[ Celerity Selected ]-; d0;  alias mvt mvt1"

    alias sens "sens1"
    alias sens1 "alias select clk; d1; echo -[ Cloaking Selected ]-; d0; alias sens sens2"
    alias sens2 "alias select phr; d1; echo -[ Pheramones Selected ]-; d0; alias sens sens3"
    alias sens3 "alias select scnt; d1; echo -[ Scent of Fear Selected ]-; d0;  alias sens sens1"


    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
  • KissamiesKissamies Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4748Members
    Ah, you can actually make commandmenu work in NS? I thought that the radial menu broke it and never tried to use that.

    /me goes to script
  • CheesyPetezaCheesyPeteza Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9784Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--.torment. j+Aug 18 2003, 09:57 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (.torment. j @ Aug 18 2003, 09:57 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> cheezy that config takes up way too many keys, dont u know how to metabind !?!?!? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Pfft, I dunno what type of keyboard you use but mines got 110 keys. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Nice technique though. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
Sign In or Register to comment.