--> Tip: How To Make A Chat Script<--

DeltaWolfDeltaWolf Join Date: 2003-08-17 Member: 19885Members
edited August 2003 in New Player Forum
<div class="IPBDescription">A quick guide to better communication!</div> Preparation:
1) Find your Natural Selection folder Sierra\half-life\ns\
2) Locate config.cfg
3) Make a duplicate of config.cfg (Copy it)
4) Rename the copy to something you can remember! eg:( deltawolf.cfg
5) Now, open the ".cfg" file with notepad
6) Select all text
7) Delete everything
8) Save data
9) Begin scripting and adding functions...

10) Follow steps 1-09 and --> Add an autoexec.cfg

Purpose:
In some cases, it is very important to have good key binds for quick action!
For example, if you are a gorge and want to increase your effectiveness on
the field, memorize what keys are for what: e.g (planting a OC) quickly,
rather than trying to go through the popupmenu! Also, make binds that
allow quick communication! heres an example: bind "c" "say_team Affirmative/Acknowledged"
These will allow you to fully communicate with your teammates, as well as
get you on your way to becoming a better player! Scripting also is a very
helpful way of making buttons perform multiple tasks. Ill explain further with
a few helpful examples of the "alias" and "bind" command...

Required Commands/Syntaxes
alias <--- alias defines a name for a set of actions! <alias> <name of alias> <contents>
bind <--- bind gives the desired key an action <bind> <key> <alias or action>
";" (semicolon) <-- links other commands into one! eg: <say_team Good to go!; say_team Alright" -->>>> X: Good to go! (on next line)--> Alright

Example Chat Script: (Similar to the radio commands in Counterstrike...

alias "dev1" "developer 1" <-- This is used to allow the "echo" output to be displayed without console
alias "dev0" "developer 0" <-- This is used to hide the "echo" output...

alias "chatmenu" "dev1;echo -=]1. Help! || 2. Stick Together Team! || 3. Enemy Down![=-;chatbind;dev0" <--- Will be displayed when player hits the desired key to bring up the menu...
alias "chatbind" "bind 1 sayhelp;bind 2 sticktogether;bind 3 enemydown"

alias "reconfig" "bind 1 slot1;bind 2 slot2;bind 3 slot3;bind 4 slot4;bind 5 slot5;bind 6 slot6;bind 7 slot7;bind 8 slot8; bind 9 slot9;bind 0 slot10" <-- Will restore the keys 1-0 after desired function is done...

alias "sayhelp" "say_team Help me, I am in bad condition!;reconfig" <-- Will say: Help me, I am in bad condition! ... and will also reconfigure the keys to their normal actions...
alias "sticktogether" "say_team Stick Together Team!;reconfig" <-- ""
alias "enemydown" "say_team Enemy down!;reconfig" <-- ""

bind "key" "chatmenu" <---- whatever key you want to access the communication menu you press this button!


Autoexec.cfg: --> After creating it... delete everything in it and enter this stuff in:
exec "yourscriptname.cfg"
bind "f3" "exec yourscriptname.cfg" <-- This will make it so you never have to type in console "exec yourscriptname.cfg" again! All you have to do is press the [F3] Key!


FAQ:
QUESTION: "Where do I go about putting this?"
Answer: This should be made in a separate ".cfg" file. Go back to the top for information on Preparation of a ".cfg" file.

QUESTION: "HOW DO I MAKE IT RUN?"
Answer: In Console "~", type: exec <scriptname.cfg> (void using the "<>")

QUESTION: ANY MORE QUESTIONS?
ANSWER: POST HERE.


As a note: This thread was made simply to help newbies and others to get a head start on perhaps creating an easier way of communication.
I feel that by being able to use chat commands quickly and easily on the battlefield, one can certainly worry more about fighting to win!
If any of this was somewhat confusing, please post here and help each other out. I will do my best to answer questions too. By the way, scripting
can be fun and annoying at the same time, so don't lose heart... I'm sure there are a lot of friendly people on this board to help everyone out.

Thanks again for reading and good luck with your future in Natural Selection!

Comments

  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    Bettar than <span style='font-family:Courier'>echo</span>: <span style='font-family:Courier'>scr_connectmsg</span>.

    And bettar than chat scripts: <span style='font-family:Courier'>bind HOME +voicerecord</span> <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->

    ...

    For general console stuph: <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=17&t=29827' target='_blank'>clicky</a>.
  • DeltaWolfDeltaWolf Join Date: 2003-08-17 Member: 19885Members
    hey cool! yea, scr_connectmsg is good, but if i'm right, you are limited to only three lines of spacing... i've tried it with more than that, but it doesn't seem to work too well.
    anywho, yes, a voice communication microphone would be better, but still this is a great backup! ^_^ thanks for your reply SoulSkorpian. someone that knows his stuff pretty well <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    oh btw nice post on getting started w/ scripting.
  • CplDavisCplDavis I hunt the arctic Snonos Join Date: 2003-01-09 Member: 12097Members
    I just binded all the impulse commands into key groups that go together

    such as
    p = Awaiting orders
    [ = In position
    ] = roger that

    k = Ive got you covered
    l = Aliens spotted


    etc

    Or I just bind other keys to various things I might want to say.

    bind f "say_team Squad, Check the ceilings ans Ckeck your 6."


    I dontknow, that way jsut seems easier, or maybe I missed a point. <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Hey, what ever works. <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Cpl.Davis+Aug 18 2003, 12:17 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Cpl.Davis @ Aug 18 2003, 12:17 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I just binded all the impulse commands into key groups that go together

    such as
    p = Awaiting orders
    [ = In position
    ] = roger that

    k = Ive got you covered
    l = Aliens spotted <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Whoa... I'd be so screwed using your config. Those are where my weapons are <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DiscoZombieDiscoZombie Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18951Members
    how do some people include their location in their chats? what's the alias? like, when you see a team chat prefixed with (computer core), etc... I used to know how to do such things in action HL, but that was years ago... <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DeltaWolfDeltaWolf Join Date: 2003-08-17 Member: 19885Members
    i'm not sure either, but you should try %l (location?) haven't played w/ it, but it might be it...
  • SkitZoFrenicSkitZoFrenic Join Date: 2003-02-08 Member: 13252Banned
    Im ASSUMING this is JUST FOR VOOGRU servers...but...may as well try
    <a href='http://forums.voogru.com/showthread.php?threadid=3315' target='_blank'>http://forums.voogru.com/showthread.php?threadid=3315</a>
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--DiscoZombie+Aug 19 2003, 12:30 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (DiscoZombie @ Aug 19 2003, 12:30 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> how do some people include their location in their chats? what's the alias? like, when you see a team chat prefixed with (computer core), etc... I used to know how to do such things in action HL, but that was years ago... <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    It's included automatically, you just can't see your own location in your text messages. The business of adding %l is NOT part of Half-Life; it's implemented by some mods.
  • Iced_EagleIced_Eagle Borg Engineer Join Date: 2003-03-02 Member: 14218Members
    that %l doesn't work on all servers <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo--> it needs a special plugin and I saw alot of people abuse it... for example (I'm at %l with %w weapon and with this much ammo %r )

    Skorpion good work on that <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo--> too much work to mkae a script and i dont konw how nor do i care <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DeltaWolfDeltaWolf Join Date: 2003-08-17 Member: 19885Members
    Ah okay. I had an odd feeling that it wouldn't work... eh but in TFC, you can type in %h and %a to report your stats. I hope natural selection can do that eventually.
Sign In or Register to comment.