Reserve Slot Problem (and Auth Icon Question)

The_MAzTerThe_MAzTer Join Date: 2003-01-04 Member: 11784Members, Constellation
<div class="IPBDescription">Or does someone know a good solution?</div> One of our servers using a anti-n00b system (people get a res slots and using 4 open slots). This means people have to signup first and get a kinda trial, if they are a n00b there reserve slot will be removed.

We have curently 140 people who got a reserve slot. Works fine in adminmod. But due that some admins where slaping them self (WHY??) and other stupid things we have deceided to install AMX (logs admin actions). Only the problem i have this time that AMX dont like so many admins:
I see the warning: Admins limit reached! like 100 times in the logs.

So i am actualy looking for a solution:

- or admin logs admin activety
- or amx for normal admins, adminmod for the reserve slot users
- or a seperate plugin who look who have a reserve slot.

Also got a problem with auth icons. All those people get a auth icon as well so we can check if someone signed up or not. I dont think NS takes more then 64 people who are in this list.

So the best solution should be:
a plugin who checks a file with wonids, give them automatecly a auth icon and a reserve slot.

Anyone know a solution?

Comments

  • BryBry Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12609Members
    Partial solution
    <a href='http://www.scriptordie.com/download.php?2' target='_blank'>http://www.scriptordie.com/download.php?2</a>

    AdminMod Plugin that logs admin commands. Works very well

    Also though are you using the right user level for reserved slots. As reserved slot only people can not do any other amdin command. The correct user level is 32768


    Also make sure you have latest adminmod etc
  • The_MAzTerThe_MAzTer Join Date: 2003-01-04 Member: 11784Members, Constellation
    adminmod and the reserve slots works fine

    its just AMX who cannt handle so many admins
  • statusqstatusq Join Date: 2003-01-10 Member: 12142Members
    AMX reserved slot system is a plugin that is shipped with AMX mod.
    Maybe you could modify the plugin so it accepts more admins?
  • JoeBlowJoeBlow Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12899Members
    edited July 2003
    I use this plugin for auth icons. It checks to see if you have kick rights, and if you do, adds an icon

    <a href='http://modns.org/viewtopic.php?t=51' target='_blank'>auth.sma</a>

    Are you using Mysql for your admins, or just listing them in the admin file? I use Mysql, but I also don't have that many admins so I don't know if it would change anything.
  • cracker_jackmaccracker_jackmac Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6891Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--statusq+Jul 26 2003, 09:31 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (statusq @ Jul 26 2003, 09:31 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> AMX reserved slot system is a plugin that is shipped with AMX mod.
    Maybe you could modify the plugin so it accepts more admins? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    nope..not opensource yet...not till 1.0 will it be open source (basicly it means he will no longer be developing it)
  • CrashCrash Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3395Members, Constellation
    edited July 2003
    If you look inside the <i>examples</i> folder of AMX, there is a file called <i>admin.sma</i>. This is the source code for the base admin system. If you open it in a simple text editor (eg. Notepad), you will see this at the top:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->/* AMX Mod script.
    *
    * (c) Copyright 2002, OLO
    * This file is provided as is (no warranties).
    *
    */

    #include <amxmod>

    #define MAX_ADMINS 64 <---- EDIT THIS

    new admin_password[MAX_ADMINS][32]
    new admin_name[MAX_ADMINS][32]
    new admin_flags[MAX_ADMINS]
    new admin_priv[MAX_ADMINS]
    new admin_num = 0<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    The line with the arrow is all that you need change. Be aware that it was set at 64 to save memory allocation space, but in all honesty, its not exactly a massive drain. You won't see any difference by bumping it up to 512 or something <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Once you have altered it, you need to recompile it using <i>sc.bat</i>. The compiled file will be placed in the <i>compiled</i> folder. Copy <i>admin.amx</i> from this folder into the <i>plugins</i> folder which is under the base amx folder. Upload to your server, and your done. Hope that helps you!

    The difference between AdminMod and AMX is that AdminMod was designed to be an admin tool, whereas AMX is just a scripting system. AdminMod has the ability to run extra scripts; well AMX is <b>just</b> that feature. This allows you to write your own admin system using AMX's functions (eg. the included scripts like admin.sma). Its just more flexible imo <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • MasterShakeMasterShake Join Date: 2003-04-20 Member: 15699Members
    If you have over 100 reserved slot users, I would highly recommend adminmod with a mySQL database. mySQL isn't that easy to set up on a windows box, but it seems to work pretty well on XP/2000 as a service. You'll have to read the adminmod and mysql manuals to get it to work though, as it is fairly technical. A "real" database is much faster and easier to maintain than a text file, believe me.
  • The_MAzTerThe_MAzTer Join Date: 2003-01-04 Member: 11784Members, Constellation
    edited July 2003
    tnx for all help

    anyone have auth.sma ? the link on modns is dead

    will use a mysql db as soon as our new site is done. I dont have time at the moment to code a page to add admins etc. (ok its only half a hour work but still <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->)

    btw, what if they mysql is down :o i cannt install mysql on that server, so i have to use our webserver for it.
  • cracker_jackmaccracker_jackmac Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6891Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    Good Work!!! I didn't know that was there even!
  • CheesyPetezaCheesyPeteza Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9784Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    Here is auth.sma. There is a slight problem with it in that it sometimes takes a map change for your icon to appear.

    Also you can rename some cvars in adminslots.sma so it looks like adminmod with reserveslots. ASE doesn't understand AMX reserve slots, only HLSW does as far as I know.
  • The_MAzTerThe_MAzTer Join Date: 2003-01-04 Member: 11784Members, Constellation
    tnx

    what is amx thingy to check if a user have a reserve slot? ADMIN_RESERVE ?
Sign In or Register to comment.