Perpetual "quick How To" Thread

124

Comments

  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--[GRR]Hunter+Jun 10 2003, 04:12 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([GRR]Hunter @ Jun 10 2003, 04:12 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> is there another way to move it in this direction unless to put the angle to "0" ?

    So help me out with my n00bless <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Try setting the angle to 360.
  • GRRHunterGRRHunter Join Date: 2003-05-07 Member: 16118Members
    edited June 2003
    thx <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->

    then still one problem to solve:
    - How can i say the door to stay open until the func_button is used again

    EDIT: And here is another one :
    - If i make an entinity place it somewhere etc. and then right click on it open the proberties it just show me something of visgroups an i have to make a new entinity <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->

    More problems to come <!--emo&::nerdy::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/nerd.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='nerd.gif'><!--endemo--> <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • chubbystevechubbysteve Join Date: 2002-10-14 Member: 1496Members, Constellation
    Here is a small boring tutorial I wrote a while back for selective design, but that dude must be dead or something. Might as well share it here:

    <b>Getting a grill on your ceilings that your commander can place things through (snappy title eh?).</b>

    Func_seethroughs’ fail when you can’t set the render mode. So you can have grates, but all that blue stuff goes black and you can’t accept that. There is a way around this problem and for you beginning NS level designers, here’s how.

    To create the grill in its entirety you need two entities: a func_illusionary and a func_seethrough.
    The illusionary takes your ‘{’ (transparency) texture. It is set to render mode solid and FX amount 255, just like your average grill. Now Go into flags, and set the ‘invisible from top down view’ flag on. So now the players have a no clipping grill, and the commander can place things through.
    Make a func_seethrough in the same place as your func_illusionary and texture it with null*. Entirely. Set it so the commander alpha is 0 and player alpha is 0. This means that the commander can place things through it, but also that player can’t see it – null remember. And then there’s the grill which the player can see, and apparently clip on (really the seethrough) but is invisible to the commander.

    Interestingly enough – func_seethrough isn’t always func_build through. Try it with 255 on commander alpha.


    *Note – you may need Merl’s custom build 1.6.1 + for this as fully nulled brushes were discarded totally in 1.6. I say may because that could have only been world brushes.
  • GRRHunterGRRHunter Join Date: 2003-05-07 Member: 16118Members
    need help with mp3 sounds:
    got an target_mp3audio
    with this flags:
    name: generatorsound
    Sound: sound/pulsingwhine.mp3
    Volume: 255
    Fade Distance: 1000

    the prob is that i can't hear any sounds
  • moultanomoultano Creator of ns_shiva. Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10806Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Gold, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts
    bump, and what is the commandline parameter for each build program that tells you how close you are to the limits?
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    I can't help hunter, I haven't had any luck with sounds either.

    "-chart" will display a chart showing how close you are to to the limits.
  • esunaesuna Rock Bottom Join Date: 2003-04-03 Member: 15175Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--[GRR]Hunter+Jun 16 2003, 04:35 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([GRR]Hunter @ Jun 16 2003, 04:35 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> need help with mp3 sounds:
    got an target_mp3audio
    with this flags:
    name: generatorsound
    Sound: sound/pulsingwhine.mp3
    Volume: 255
    Fade Distance: 1000

    the prob is that i can't hear any sounds <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I've been playing with this quite a lot today. And i've come up with something:

    First off, pulsatingwhine.mp3 is in "sound/ambience/", not just "sound/" so try putting in "sound/ambience/pulsatingwhine.mp3".

    Another thing, check the flags tab and, if you don't intend to trigger it by an event, tick the box next to "Start On", and this will start the sound when the game starts. Also check the looping box if you want that too.

    The name isn't important if you're not going to trigger it by some sort of event, but if you are, leave that there.

    And if all of the above fail, the final thing is the odd thing. A very odd thing. Through playing with this entity for some time tonight i've found that for some strange reason it won't play the sound at 255 volume. Just drop it to 200 and it +should+ work.

    If after all of this it doesn't work... then who knows <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • ChoTaAChoTaA Join Date: 2003-06-24 Member: 17659Members
    hello guys,
    my prob is the "non-sprite glow" error. Whenever I make an entity's render mode glow, this error comes out... Should I make them glow with another way? how?
  • NerdIIINerdIII Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15230Members
    Huh? What do you want to achieve? You can't set brush entities to 'glow'. They will be rendered as 'texture' in this case. Use 'additive' instead and set the effect to hologram.
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    You can only set sprites to rendermode Glow, everything else will give you that error. What you want to choose depends on what you want:

    1) You want it to glow like a lightbulb or computer screen and give off light onto nearby things - Set it to rendermode texture and add the texture to your light.rad file (If this is what you're looking for I can explain how you should edit the light.rad file or you can do a search for another thread on it)

    2) You want it to glow like it is being lit up, like a hologram or a semi-opaque window - Set it to rendermode additive
  • ChoTaAChoTaA Join Date: 2003-06-24 Member: 17659Members
    Ok I did it with the render mode set to texture.. I was trying to make a lamp. Thanx
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    edited June 2003
    - How to make a window with different transparency/textuure from 2 sides (one sided window) ? I want a "dall" whoose vis just goes one sided.
    - When I use one multi manager to play 2 different target_mp3_audio (not at the same tine and not looped) everytime the multimanager gets triggered sometimes I hear the sound, sometimes not, and sometimes too late and all at the same time (e.g. when I teleport). Howto fix?
  • esunaesuna Rock Bottom Join Date: 2003-04-03 Member: 15175Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Ollj+Jun 30 2003, 07:28 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ollj @ Jun 30 2003, 07:28 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> - How to make a window with different transparency/textuure from 2 sides (one sided window) ? I want a "dall" whoose vis just goes one sided. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    What i'd suggest is make 2 brushes, both entirely in the null texture.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
       |----|----|
       |----|----|
    <-|----|----| ->
       |----|----|
       |----|----|
     1    2    3
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    Face [1] would be one texture, say a window texture, that brush would be set to a func_wall or whatever to achieve the effect you want. [2] is the point where the two brushes meet, obviously. [3] is the opposite side, but on the second brush. The face pointing outwards (as shown by the arrow) would be another texture, say a solid wall, mirror, or whatever. Again, set the second brush to the entity desired. So now if you look at face [1], it'll be a window, and if you look fromt he other side at face [3] you'll see whatever texture or effect you gave the second brush.

    I hope that's helped at all, it makes sense in my mind.
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    Well, esuna got it right. That's what I thought of right away but I can't think of any better way to explain it to you.

    I can't help you with sounds either, I haven't had much luck with them either. There could possibly be a bug in the mp3_audio, how about the old fashioned ambience_generic?
  • DEADspartanDEADspartan Join Date: 2003-06-30 Member: 17821Members
    does anyone know of a good place that i can go to to learn about freakin entities for Hammer...i dont know how to make them/how to load them, it would be helpful if someone would help me...

    btw, nice work on the ns_teamdm_b4 map ollj, look forward to seeing you on our server again <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    <!--QuoteBegin--{DEAD}spartan+Jul 1 2003, 11:17 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ({DEAD}spartan @ Jul 1 2003, 11:17 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> does anyone know of a good place that i can go to to learn about freakin entities for Hammer...i dont know how to make them/how to load them, it would be helpful if someone would help me... <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    The help file in Hammer maybe? There are several good, general mapping web sites listed on the help menu.
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation
    ns entitys found in chromes guide, he might link u up, and also short info in mine, <a href='http://www.geocities.com/adam_tebbutt_mckern/ns.html' target='_blank'>http://www.geocities.com/adam_tebbutt_mckern/ns.html</a>

    also, the valve-erc, <a href='http://www.valve-erc.com' target='_blank'>http://www.valve-erc.com</a> and the snarkpit, <a href='http://www.snarkpit.com' target='_blank'>http://www.snarkpit.com</a> have good infos on entitys, and lost of user guides, for things not seen often in maps

    amckern
  • NerdIIINerdIII Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15230Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Ollj+Jul 1 2003, 02:28 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ollj @ Jul 1 2003, 02:28 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> - How to make a window with different transparency/textuure from 2 sides (one sided window) ? I want a "dall" whoose vis just goes one sided.
    <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    What is a dall?!? And if you mean VIS.exe, I believe there is no way in blocking vis one way. If you mean transparency in general, then esuna described it excellently <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
    Although I thought your English is quite good I translate it for you, in case you were/are drunk when reading it or something... noone knows:

    <i>Anstelle des Fensters sollst du einen Quader mit Textur 'null' erstellen. Den schneidest du in zwei H?lften - f?r jede Seite des Fensters eine und konvertierst sie zu func_walls. Dann ist auf jeder Seite genau ein func_wall zu sehen. Als n?chstes setzt du f?r jede Seite den rendermode und ?nderst die Texturen, der beiden au?en liegenden Fl?chen. Jenachdem was da zu sehen sein soll. Esuna hat angenommen du willst auf der einen Seite ein Fenster haben, also z.B. eine Glastextur und auf der anderen Seite eine Spiegelfolie, also rendermode=normal und eine Textur, die dem nahe kommt.</i>
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    This thread is worth bumping up, but now I have a question so I don't have to do that.

    I'm trying to make a func_breakable, or something like that that will take damage then trigger a trigger, be non-solid, passable. I've tried several different things, including a func_door with health that is passable, and texturing a func_breakable with origin so that it's non-solid. The problem is when the breakable is non-solid the attacks go right through it too! Any ideas?
  • Lt_GravityLt_Gravity Join Date: 2003-04-28 Member: 15909Members
    ^how does the commands "r_drawflat" and "r_draworder" work under ns mod with the counterstrike retail? any clues? I tried a little bit but nothing seem to work...
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    r_drawflat and r_draworder are for software mode only.
    in openGL mode gl_wireframe 2 and gl_wireframe 1 show the same, just as line model + textures.
  • esunaesuna Rock Bottom Join Date: 2003-04-03 Member: 15175Members, Constellation
    regarding r_speeds 1, how can i get it to display on screen? Right now it only shows in the console and i've seen a lot of people with it on the normal game screen.

    Also, with gl_wireframe, how can i get it so i can move, it says i need cheats enabled even though they are.
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    esuna - Add -dev to your HalfLife command line

    Ollj - gl_wireframe only displays the line model, it just leaves the textures as they are instead of replacing them with colors.
  • NerdIIINerdIII Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15230Members
    @esuna: If you should once forget to add -dev to you command line you can enter 'developer 1' in the console. The dev-switch will show you all console output on screen + it writes some extra info to the console that of course will be shown on screen as well <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->
    (Usefull to find basic errors in entities for example)
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation
    ensua, hl defalt cheats only work in sp style games, so instead of making a lan game, click console at main menu, and type map yourmapname

    amckern
  • alienchickenpiealienchickenpie Join Date: 2003-01-25 Member: 12710Members
    I wanna use texture lights. Where should I put lights.rad? In my zoner folder, my compiler batch folder or my hammer folder?
  • amckernamckern Join Date: 2003-03-03 Member: 14249Members, Constellation
    ok, 3 places

    the folder with your map, but name the rad file to yourmapname.rad

    in your hammer folder under lights.rad

    in your zoners folder under lights.rad

    amckern
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    You only need to put the lights.rad file in one place, in the same folder as hlrad.exe.
  • CoolCookieCooksCoolCookieCooks Pretty Girl Join Date: 2003-05-18 Member: 16446Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
    hello, im a n00b at sequences etc <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo--> so can someone show me how to make it so a laser shoots quickly then waits for a mittle time then shotts again, then waits for 1 second while makign sounds trigger?

    ty -=F4F=- Cookie
Sign In or Register to comment.