Ns_atrium

PfhreakPfhreak Join Date: 2002-11-14 Member: 8612Members
edited March 2003 in Mapping Forum
<div class="IPBDescription">Shots, comments, and development</div> Here they come... the first few shots of what I've been working on: ns_atrium.

These shots are taken from the hallway right outside of the Marine spawn. (Hence, they are well lit. The lighting will change closer to the Kharaa.)

This is the only area I've textured and detailed at all, and this is my first attempt at a map (except for the obligitory map of my house.... but that's a different story.)

Thanks to everyone who helped me get into the mapping groove. (And to the makers of NS of course.)

Without any further ado, I give you:

<b><u><span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>LAST UPDATED: 03/05/03 </span></u></b>

Comments

• PfhreakPfhreak Join Date: 2002-11-14 Member: 8612Members
    edited March 2003
    An unskilled forumite who didn't notice that it cleared the attachment field after you clicked preview:
    Those of you who are really astute will have noticed the vents running along the side of the hallway, here's a shot from within them:

I'm debating whether or not I should make the grating shoot through able. If so, would I make them illusary and make a clip brush there? (Then skulks couldn't walk on the part that is grating.... Comments?)
  • VyvnVyvn Join Date: 2002-08-24 Member: 1226Members
    The first shot looks kind of drab and colorless. I would suggest a lot more variation in general, both in your lighting, texture usage, and brushwork. Either shorten the hallway or make the walls a lot less even and symetrical--throw in some side rooms with computers and stuff.

I would suggest making the vent walls solid, in that you can't shoot through them. That way you can use them for gathering information, but not for, say, a Fade to camp in and acid rocket everyone who walks by.
  • RevenantRevenant Join Date: 2003-01-13 Member: 12249Members