Problem Map

lolakololako Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12634Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Exceeded MAX_MAP_PLANES</div> let's see, when i try to compile my map i get the error:

hlcsg: Error: <b>Exceeded MAX_MAP_PLANES</b>
Description: The maximum number of plane definitions has been reached

half map is done yet, i've to finish the hives

how can i fix it?

screenshots:
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/?s=ep&s2=maps&id=4' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/?s=ep&s2=maps&id=4</a>

<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu10.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...p_by_manu10.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu11.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...p_by_manu11.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu9.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu9.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu1.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu1.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu2.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu2.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/nsmap_by_manu3.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/nsmap_by_manu3.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu5.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu5.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu6.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu6.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu7.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu7.jpg</a>
<a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu8.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu8.jpg</a>

Comments

  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    edited January 2003
    Images just work if- Klick URL and HIT ENTER AGAIN.

    <a href='http://members.telocity.com/pdebaan/errors.htm#maxlim' target='_blank'>http://members.telocity.com/pdebaan/errors.htm#maxlim</a>
    good old NULL texture is fine against MAX planes.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Null won't help in this case due to the planes being calculated before Nulls can be trimmed. Worst offenders are bevels, pipes and rocky areas, they eat planes like candy and I see lolako has used all three.
  • AxehandlerAxehandler Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12038Members
    And Thus... another lesson is learned...

    Complete the layout of your map, and slowly add details to avoid going over the limits <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Best bet now is to remove as much details as possiable and try to finish the map, then go back and add the details as best as possiable. always watching the limits of the engine <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Axe
  • Nemesis_ZeroNemesis_Zero Old European Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 75Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    Another very good way is going through your level and trying to 'merge' planes. Example:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
             |
             |
             |
    _____|
             |________
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    Let's assume that each line is worth one unit and that we see two walls hitting each other with a little offset in between. This happens very often accidentaly if you don't pay attention.

    If you change it to this:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
             |
             |
             |
    _____|_______
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    I.e., if you resize one of the walls by one unit, you save one plane without of any real visual loss.

    Also, it's adviseable to use few complicated brushs than many simple ones. If you try to create complicated structures, always combine as many brushes as possible into a single brush by clipping / vertex manipulation.
  • lolakololako Join Date: 2003-01-23 Member: 12634Members
    thanks to all <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
    of you and what do you think about the pictures?
  • ImaTargetImaTarget Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3415Members
    looks promising! i dig the corridor <a href='http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_nsmap_by_manu3.jpg' target='_blank'>http://www.manum.host.sk/screnshots/full_n...ap_by_manu3.jpg</a> ! <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    while we are at planes: are planes only calculated for brushes inside the map or also on brush faces facing the void?
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Planes count does include those facing the void.
  • ImaTargetImaTarget Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3415Members
    thanks angel! back to aligning those brushes on the outside neatly... *sigh* mapping is /&§%$/&"§%$ work!
  • Cash_Car_StarCash_Car_Star Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 6448Members
    edited January 2003
    Planes counts all planes of all brushes no matter what. It is actually calculated by CSG, not any of the later parts of the compile process, so tricks that deal with BSP, VIS and RAD will have no effect (null textures, for example) A good way to trim this down is find sets of brushes that could be made with less brushes and trim it down. For example:
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    ___        ___
    |      |     |      |
    |___| -> |      |
    \     |      \     |
     \__|       \__|<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    edit: the code tag on these forums sux0rs, all real forums use the courier font for the code tag
Sign In or Register to comment.