Final thoughts on the game !

OsydiusOsydius France Join Date: 2015-09-19 Member: 208031Members
Hi,

So I've been playing the game for about 2 years now and, as we are getting close to release, I decided a few months back to start a new game in hardcore and see how the game felt from beginning to end (it was just after the silent running update so at least up to the end available at that time, i.e. the spawning of the eggs). During this playthrough, I tried to put myself as much as possible in the shoes of a new player. So for instance, I waited until I got the signal to go to the Island rather than go there almost immediately to get my fruits. That type of things.

Overall, the game is much better than it was even one year ago. The story is great, the use of the radio to somewhat guide the player toward new technologies is a good idea, love the Aurora and the amount of wrecks you can now find with the tech inside, find it fascinating to find and read the degassi survivors' PDAs, the SeaDragon is trying to beat the Reaper in the "nightmare fuel" category... overall I feel really good about the state of the game.

But, and you knew this but was coming, I feel a few issues still have a detrimental impact on the game and I wanted to bring them up to the devs' attention:

- Base placement bugs: I start with the small one first - it still bugs me to have such a hard time connecting my Moonpool and Scanner Room to my main base. It's like the system is actively trying to prevent me from putting them at the right level. I don't know if the Ghost update has fixed this as I haven't had time to check but damn it's annoying.

- Tech progression: I feel that the acquisition order of new tech is a bit chaotic.