SCIENCE room stuff

MisereMisere Join Date: 2004-03-28 Member: 27568Members
I am a biologist so really love the finding new species, logging them and taking them back to my base for observation. Having a lab room which has a function rather than just the look would be cool. Some Ideas and items follow, please add your own and I will update this list with credit:

Potential new items:

A DNA sequencer for analysis to unlock new info/uses on each species

DNA biopsy gun to collect samples from large species with smaller ones either being fed directly into the machine or a smaller biopsy tool.

Specimen jars of different sizes to collect each of the species in the game. Most biology departments have a specimen collection. I know the game uses an electronic log via the scanner but it would be kind of cool to have a room with shelves and jars on them as well.

An auto dissector machine or a table where the player can perform the dissection themselves. Some sort of mini game perhaps which if they screw it up by cutting in the wrong order/too deep too fast the sample is wasted. Otherwise providing X number of wild caught and X number of lab grown samples unlock new info and

A camera monitoring system/upgrade for the alien habitat tank to add information about the species the longer you have it in there, one species at a time, having two of the same gives info about breeding behaviour

Mass Spectrometer ¬ An apparatus for separating isotopes, molecules, and molecular fragments according to mass. The sample is vaporized and ionized, and the ions are accelerated in an electric field and deflected by a magnetic field into a curved trajectory that gives a distinctive mass spectrum.

These could all be prerequisites to getting things like:
A suit to swim faster ¬ Sharks
Night vision goggles ¬ Eye fish
Electric shocker ¬ Electric Eel
Shark repellent ¬ Both shark species dissected and Mass spectrometer
Improved batteries ¬ Acid mushrooms dissection