Anyone with GREAT patience willing to help?

LunSeiLunSei Tarnax IV Join Date: 2014-06-21 Member: 196674Members
So, I started playing this game. And it's really awesome!!!

...But I'm really, really bad at it. I know from my experience with fighting games that it requires patience to learn, but I've really given an embarassing exploit so far. May be because I'm not used to first person games.

I'm focusing on the aliens first, and haven't tried the marines yet if not in the short tutorial. I'll go with the marines once I started to learn how to play.

I have some questions:

1) Is there a way to keep a map somewhere on the screen? The fact the map is only visible by holding C is a bit of a problem for me. I often get lost. My poor sense of direction!

2) Is there a way to target a marine, or to leap at him, as a skulk? Because as much as I sneak and try to climb on walls, the marines move too fast for me to get a bite.

3) Should I save my evolution points instead of spending them often?

4) What do I exactly need to do? I get very confused. I tried to press X and then ask for a map ping, and then follow the circles on the map. Is that good, for starters?

Thanks! :)

Comments

• SpaSpa Join Date: 2013-05-20 Member: 185301Members
    edited June 2014
    1) No, but the more you play the better you get with directions and vents/rooms etc. Many people run around with their maps on just to see what is happening in other places. [This can also relate in random deaths b/c you are not paying attention]

2) Once you get the upgrade for skulk you can leap at them. However, prior to that as a skulk try not to engage marines when you are by yourself. Generally the game is designed so that a marine v skulk (same level) would result with a marine win.