ns2_veil - Discussion

idera13idera13 sweden Join Date: 2014-03-19 Member: 194848Members
I’m a game design student at a university in Sweden and got an assignment to analyze a popular level from a multiplayer of my choice. I’ve decide to analyze ns2_veil from natural selection 2.

So now to my question to you all: What do you think about ns2_veil? Do you like or dislike the level and is there any specific reason why you think so?

Comments

• xen32xen32 Join Date: 2012-10-18 Member: 162676Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    It's cool. Different from all the other maps, has some nice tactically-valuable rooms, like system, dome, all the junctions.
    Thing I dislike is overlook-skylights vent, where one gorge can control two marine resources safely until jetpakcs and fact that marines can only hold cargo until bilebomb is researched, then they are doomed. On the other hand, cargo goes down mighty fast when jetpacks are in play, so this makes cargo base pretty vulnerable for both sides.
    Another think I dislike is how nano is considered overly important. Too many games were lost because either team invested too much in nano (offense or defense) completely ignoring rest of the map.

Overall, it's my favorite map, I think.
  • jackson7jackson7 France Join Date: 2013-10-05 Member: 188594Members
    I used to hate this map, because I did not know how it works. I thought it was in favor of the aliens (quick access to Nanogrid and a second techpoint) and marines had a disadvantage because they must run A LOT in order to get some RTs. But now that I know more about this map, it's one of my favourites. You can go for a lot of different strategies on either side. But what I think is one of the trickiest aspects about Veil is the control of a few chokepoints (Dome / System Waypointing / East Junction).