3D printing the Aliens [now with results!]

MrFangsMrFangs Join Date: 2013-03-27 Member: 184474Members, Reinforced - Shadow
edited January 2014 in NS2 General Discussion
If all goes well, I'll have access to a 3D printer soon. Quite naturally, I'm planning to print cute little Gorges and fearsome Fades with it :)

Has anyone tried this already? I'm not afraid of digging into tech stuff, but I have no experience with 3D modelling at all. The main thing I don't know is how one would define the pose of the model to print... standing, attacking, running etc. I know that Poser is used for stuff like that, but could it be made to work with the NS2 models?

(All for personal use only, of course.)

Comments

• joohoo_n3djoohoo_n3d Join Date: 2012-10-30 Member: 164703Members, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Supporter
    get permission from uwe and then sell them as figurines for the NS2 RPG (table top)...or paper weights, i dont care, i just can haz!
  • PaajtorPaajtor Join Date: 2012-11-09 Member: 168634Members
    Can you print pluchies?
    :D
  • SamusDroidSamusDroid Colorado Join Date: 2013-05-13 Member: 185219Members, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, Subnautica Playtester, NS2 Community Developer, Pistachionauts
    It's very expensive to 3d print. Open up 3DS Max and mess with the posing. You can't do it like you can in the Viewer though. You'd have to manually move the bones and export the model like that I assume.
  • BensonBenson Join Date: 2012-03-07 Member: 148303Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    edited August 2013
    I would be willing to pay for a cool lerk or gorge figure

SpecOps marine too :D
  • MrFangsMrFangs Join Date: 2013-03-27 Member: 184474Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Paajtor wrote: »
    Can you print pluchies?
    :D

I'm afraid not :D But I sure would like to ^^

Still hoping that UWE comes up with official ones...