Overclocking CPU/GPU

VetinariVetinari Join Date: 2013-07-23 Member: 186325Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver
I might want to start looking into overclocking my PC soon-ish. Star Citizen's Alpha is about to be released, and my hardware is becoming dated (i7-2600k, AMD 6950)...

I have no experience about OCing whatsoever, and I thought maybe I ask some of you for advice/some clues where to start research, before actually starting to search...

Does anyone have experience with overclocking, know any good guides, etc? Please share.

Comments

• HamletHamlet Join Date: 2008-08-17 Member: 64837Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited November 2013
    First: The biggest overclock will do nothing if you get random black screens and reboots afterwards.
    So get yourself Prime95: http://www.computerbase.de/downloads/system/prime95/
    Or (better in my experience, because it produces results much faster) InterBurnTest: https://www.xgamingstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?9-RELEASE-IntelBurnTest-v2-53
    The how-tos I could link you to are in German, but I guess you'd prefer English ones...

Second: Star Citizen is still light years away from release and even if you just want to play that dogfight module, it will probably run much better 12/18/24 months down the line. We gotta see what performance benefits Mantle brings to Battlefield 4 soon and can draw conclusions for CryEngine/StarCitizen from that.. but you'd need a GPU with GCN, of course...

Third: TSMC didn't get their 20nm process done in time. That's why we have seen only recycled chips with a new sticker this "generation" (if you even wanna call it one). Example: A GTX770 is nothing but a recycled GTX680. A R9 280X is nothing but a HD7970. Only the R9 290(X) are genuinely new chips (which could have profited from the shrink enourmously).