I can't understand NS2 very basics not getting done right...

RejZoRRejZoR Slovenia Join Date: 2013-09-24 Member: 188450Members, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Shadow
On one end we have milk toothed marines with kick ass weapons to blow anything out of this world from a nice range and on the other end up close brutal aliens. But then the whole thing gets watered down so badly it's making exactly zero sense.

In AvP which is probably the closest equivalent, aliens were super deadly up close but weak far away. Simple basics. If you're far away, marine will win. If you're up close, alien will win every single time. So, marines have to constantly make sure they keep their enemies far away and never get ambushed. And aliens make sure they always ambush marines and never get caught without a cover far away.

How that works in NS2 ? It doesn't actually. Marines, if they aren't total noobs are so overpowered at all ranges it's ridiculous. This only partially gets better once aliens get lvl 3 speed upgrade. And even then, when they get shotguns, you're back at 0. Shotgun is one shot one kill for pretty much anything below Fade and low and mid range. Skulk needs way too many bites to take down a marine, especially if they are dodge jumping. Place 3 marines in a group and they'll tear down dozen skulks with ease. Especially if comm isn't a total retard and just spams them bunch of medkits.

I mean how many times happend to anyone that you were chasing a running marine with a skulk from behind and not being able to catch him fast enough as you'd expect from an agile alien? Every time i run after marine like a fuckin idiot this always comes to my mind. How the fuck can i be so friggin slow!? It's not even stupid as much as it's ridiculous. Super agile wall climbing alien outrun by a stupid weak marine. It's not even logical on any level. Aliens advantage should be speed, agility and ability to ambush. Out of which they have pretty much none.