Newbie Server?

Patrik3Patrik3 Join Date: 2013-05-01 Member: 185074Members
Hi,

I only bought the game a few days ago, and although I have watched a couple of the tutorial videos and read some of the guides, I still feel lost when I try playing in an actual game.

I'm also pretty new to multiplayer gaming in general - I've only just bought a gaming laptop last week, and previously I was using my dad's PC, which was too slow to play 'current' games on. I'm not great at FPS's - I've only played a couple. My favourite franchise of FPS is probably UT - and I can only beat "Adept" level bots on that. However, I'm hoping that if I play more FPS's I'll soon become a lot better at them!

I've not really used voice chat much, either - especially not on multiplayer. In fact, the only multiplayer games I've played have been RPG's/Diablo II or RTS's such as Age of Mythology, against friends. I used to be ranked about #5 in the world for the multiplayer of the 3rd person shooter "Ratchet & Clank 3" but since there were only about 50 people ever active, this wasn't a big achievement...

Since getting my gaming laptop, I've played a little TF2 with skype chat, but this has of course been with a friend, and even then, it felt awkward. I'm a little daunted by the prospect of talking to a bunch of strangers (but I'm 21yo so I'll get used to it!).

Anyway, back to the question - I've watched/read tutorials and I've played around a bit on explore mode, but I'd learn best by actually playing some matches. So, are there any servers where some more experienced players wouldn't mind helping me out with the basics and answering my dumb questions?

Also, if anyone could tell me how to set up a voice chat/ use the in-game voice chat? And, should I get a headset or would the inbuilt mic/speakers on my laptop be good enough?

Cheers,

Patrik

Comments

• SpoogeSpooge Thunderbolt missile in your cheerios Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 67Members