Inspecting level design through 'Loops'

HowserHowser UK Join Date: 2010-02-08 Member: 70488Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Retired Community Developer
edited April 2013 in Mapping
Howdy old mapping chums... This probably will not be helpful for the experience NS2 mappers, but I thought I would share it for my fellow noobies. Not sure how helpful this will be but its good to share!

For the past few months I've been trying to learn how to design a map for NS2. I like to consider myself a hobbyist environment artist and as such I only really wanted to just assist mappers with random assets they need. However, the more I played ns2 maps - both custom and official, the more I became interested in designing a map of my own. I'm not a level designer, and haven't really got much experience in this area so I think I've hit every pitfall along the way (and I'm still learning).

When I started drawing and planning my map the first few floor plans were crazy, far too complex, you would probably struggle to find your teammates let alone be able to defend all your bases from sneaky bastards rushing down some obscure vent or corridor. I had to go back and study the layouts of maps that worked. Breaking down the maps into Resource nodes, tech points and their connections (in the standard way) didn't really help me- it just confused me more.
Maybe I'm a bit slow, but breaking the map down into rings or loops really helped me understand how maps should flow, and how complex the connections and routes should be.

This is a very crude, oversimplified way of inspecting the design of a map, but for me, it really illustrated how complex a map should be in order to have the right 'flow'. Here's some examples:
Summit:
aIou0sd.jpg
Veil:
y7ozAkh.jpg
Tram:
jmktlO1.jpg
Docking:
yuScBQ6.jpg
Descent:
1meuGqq.jpg
Caged:
DBOUAi6.jpg
Mineshaft:
ITSK9oS.jpg
Refinery:
Vd1v3N3.jpg