Marine Ammo

GreatGrizzlyGreatGrizzly Join Date: 2012-12-27 Member: 176408Members
I have been playing for about a week now and this has been driving me nuts the moment I started playing.

Whose idea was it to restrict the marines high ROF, low damage assault rifle to 4 mags of ammo?

Now I can see some value in the typical "supply lines" metagame that is inherent in a lot of shooters. But for a twitchy, fast game where a lot of your bullets will miss against a successful alien player, or even a high HP crappy player that can tank decently, this needs some adjusting.

Yes, I know that the commander can drop ammo boxes. Spamming "I need ammo" to the commander is the akin to trying to squash a fly with a hammer, when all I need is a flyswatter, but NS2 never gave me one!

In some lifetimes I have found myself traveling back to base 4 times to get more ammo. This is boring, tedious work, something that doesn't fit in with the playstyle of NS2 at all.

I get the feeling that having such a low ammo count on such a high ROF weapon is intentionally and artificially hindering me. A player should NEVER feel like he is being artificially hindered.

Suggestions that will help me in the field:

More magazines for the assault rifle to start, increased amount of max magazines that can be held.

OR

Make rifle do more damage, have lower ROF to compensate.

OR

Allow taking the ammo from guns on the ground. Actually, this should have been implemented from the beginning, as this is a standard feature in FPSs.

Comments

• EmooEmoo Ibasa Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11198Members
    Good commanders will do their best to keep an armory near the front lines to minimize how far you have to travel back to restock. They'll also drop ammo packs when your attacking somewhere they want taken (if you just running of nowhere important they might decide that its not worth the few tres to restock you).