Unreal 2: The Awakening

Bad MojoBad Mojo Join Date: 2009-05-01 Member: 67317Members
edited November 2012 in NS2 General Discussion
<div class="IPBDescription">Anyone remember this underrated game?</div>Since I flew home for Thanksgiving, I don't have my PC with me and have been forced to play random games for nostalgic value since my dad's dated machine can't handle NS2. I started playing <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vawGzNA3nxs&feature=relmfu" target="_blank">Unreal 2: The Awakening</a> and noticed the similarities, at least in the map design (for the indoor areas).

Also I used to love the neat way they used deployables like the field generators shown in that video. Then of course there are the sentries placed individually and by the player which seems to be a more fun system than the comm placing sentry batteries. Sentries need to be more powerful/expensive and moved a little higher up in the tech tree where they can be made viable. And it would remove the need to spam sentries everywhere to try to make up for their lack of efffectiveness.

As far as the field generators, could be an interesting area denial tactic for marines, but aliens need better area denial of their own...infestation needs to do <b>more</b> to hinder marines/enhance aliens besides the inability to drop marine structures.

Comments

• unkindunkind Join Date: 2012-02-04 Member: 143563Members
    game was pretty bad compared to unreal tbh
  • Bad MojoBad Mojo Join Date: 2009-05-01 Member: 67317Members
    That's what everyone says...I don't see why this game is 'so bad.'

There's no denying the original was amazing, but I don't understand this bandwagon of hate for the sequel.
  • despairdespair Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165746Members
    ut99 best game ive ever played

will miss those days
  • HeatSurgeHeatSurge Some Guy Join Date: 2012-09-15 Member: 159438Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    edited November 2012
    It wasn't bad at all, it was just a little bland.