Khamm Pro Tip : "My team won't be agressive!?!"

TroubleshooterTroubleshooter Join Date: 2012-11-15 Member: 171559Members
edited November 2012 in NS2 General Discussion
<div class="IPBDescription">Why shade first is generally a bad idea...</div>Ok, "Pro Tip" might be a stretch as I'm new to the NS community and have been playing NS2 only since launch, but I'm here with what I hope will be some useful insight for players (mostly rookies) that just beg for Shade/Cammo first all the time, or the Khamms that give it to them. This post is about properly motivating your team to do what you want them to do... or rather understanding why the decisions you make in the command chair affects the way your team plays.

I ran into a Khamm last night that was on the losing end of a 2 hive fast Onos build who went shade first. It seems he feels the game was lost because his troops wouldn't "be aggressive" and move quickly across the map when he was handing out orders. (All text, no voice... tsk) They only upgrade he had at this point in the game (first onos T-res drop) was cammo.

Now, I don't know about you all, but what I see most of the hatchling skulk players trying to do is set up ambushes over doorways and in vents looking to pounce on wandering meat-bags. Getting them motivated to do much of anything other than this tends to be a challenge. It's in their nature and this is what they really enjoy about skulking... ambush and lulz. It seems to me that when you give them cammo, you're sending the message that this is desirable skulk behavior but also that they should actually avoid direct contact with anything they can't easily gank.