I know....I know...The Onos.

HH89HH89 Join Date: 2012-11-11 Member: 169515Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Stun</div>1). I'm a pub player with friends.

2). I know I'm not an expert, that is why I'm coming to the forums for feedback.

With those points above taken care of, I would like to ask why does the Onos have a stun? In light of all the attributes to the Onos intrinsic or extrinsic (e.g.: Close quarters maps and Onos run fast) Its stun ability seems to be the ultimate ###K you.

I'm not saying I think the Onos is "OP"
I'm certainly not saying I think 1-3 Marines should be "effective" at killing an Onos. (Though, I have noticed asymmetrical game play aside, a Skulk can mess up an exo)

I don't know why I have to lay on the ground completely immobile for what 5 to upward of 10 seconds? Even if its just 5, that is a long time in this game. The situation is always bad enough I don't see why this is implemented the way it currently is.
Change it to a shock where marines stumble backwards for a three seconds.
Change it to a slow.
Decrease the time of the stun.
Remove it.

NO, I don't think anything else about the Onos is messed up. I just feel like the stun is asinine.
This thread does not take into account any Resource or timing issues of over all gameplay.

Comments

• antacidantacid Join Date: 2007-08-07 Member: 61821Members, NS2 Playtester
    edited November 2012
    Onos stun is a 3rd hive ability on an Endgame 75 res unit. It is the ultimate alien ability and is required to prevent marine stalemates. It is a must have.
  • ZekZek Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 7962Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    3 Hive abilities are supposed to be unfair. Don't let the aliens take that much territory.
  • HH89HH89 Join Date: 2012-11-11 Member: 169515Members
    So this is not a normal ability then? That is good to know at least. I couldn't tell if it was random in use due to pub play or if I was simply getting better at running away.