Custom maps

rexorrexor Join Date: 2012-10-22 Member: 163048Members
How do you install a custom map for a server and make the clients abel to download the map from the server??

Can't find any guide for this :-(

Comments

  • VitdomVitdom Join Date: 2012-04-30 Member: 151345Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    That is not possible with current NS2.

    The connecting clients have to download all mods and maps from the Steam Workshop automatically. Simply activate a mod on the server and everything should work by itself.

    This can be done in the MapCycle.json file.

    <!--quoteo(post=1997799:date=Oct 26 2012, 03:34 PM:name=Vitdom)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Vitdom @ Oct 26 2012, 03:34 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1997799"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Specify a -modstorage ".\ns2\config\mods" executable parameter and put the mods in that folder. You might not have to put the mods here manually but I think that wasn't implemented yet? e.g.:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->Contents of folder C:\NS2-server\ns2\config\mods\m4fd7fd4_1342767525

    2012-10-17  00:49    <KAT>          .
    2012-10-17  00:49    <KAT>          ..
    2012-10-15  01:43                20 .modinfo
    2012-10-17  00:49    <KAT>          maps<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    Then specify the mod to the server, in this case "4fd7fd4" for the map ns2_summitcombat.level. (Not really sure how to do this yet, but adding it to the mapcycle works) E.g.:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->{
        "time": 23,
        "mode": "order",
        "maps":
        [
            { "map": "ns2_summitcombat", "mods": [ "4fd7fd4" ] }
        ]
    }<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    This will enable the server to update the mod automatically, and also allow all connecting clients to download the mod from Steam Workshop(not your server) and play.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
  • rexorrexor Join Date: 2012-10-22 Member: 163048Members
    Thank you for your answer Vitdom.

    The system for custom maps seem to be "set sail for fail" they should really make the clients download it from the server and not have to go to the workshop and fix it first.

    and the server query the steam workshop for the latest version when it switch to that map or something.

    how did they think about this :-)
  • CoTTonCoTTon Join Date: 2005-02-28 Member: 42773Members
    Don't forget adding any maps / mods etc makes your server "blacklisted" and only way to view them is by unchecking the mod filter in the browser list
  • VitdomVitdom Join Date: 2012-04-30 Member: 151345Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=2011679:date=Nov 5 2012, 11:08 PM:name=CoTTon)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (CoTTon @ Nov 5 2012, 11:08 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2011679"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Don't forget adding any maps / mods etc makes your server "blacklisted" and only way to view them is by unchecking the mod filter in the browser list<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    That's right, but only if the map is currently being played on if you only specify your mapmod in the map cycle.
  • rexorrexor Join Date: 2012-10-22 Member: 163048Members
    Hello again,

    I can't get the custom maps to work... I get "file not found" when I try connect to the server but the server is running the map and the client got the map(can connect to other servers with that map).

    what am I doing wrong?

    Is there any experience server operator that could make a video guide or write a guide how to do install custom maps/mods.

    Thanks in advance!


    //rexor
  • VitdomVitdom Join Date: 2012-04-30 Member: 151345Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Did you misspell the map file in the server's mapcycle?
  • rexorrexor Join Date: 2012-10-22 Member: 163048Members
    edited November 2012
    Server exe file:
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->D:\NS2Server\server1\Server.exe -port 27050 -name "Combat test server #1" -limit 20 -map co_summitcombat -webadmin -config_path "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT" -modstorage "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT\mods"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    I did put the mod/map folder in: D:\NS2Server\configCOMBAT\mods

    folder name: "m4fd7fd4_1342767525"
    contains the following files:
    .modinfo

    Sub-folder (maps):
    ns2_summitcombat.level
    Co_Summit Preview.jpg

    Sub-folder in the maps folder (overviews):
    ns2_summitcombat.hmp
    ns2_summitcombat.tga


    ----------------
    Mapcycle.json
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->{
        "time": 23,
        "mode": "order",
        "maps":
        [
            { "map": "ns2_summitcombat", "mods": [ "4fd7fd4" ] }
        ]
    }<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->


    Error while starting server highlighted in yellow
    <img src="http://i45.tinypic.com/fazh1s.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />


    Don't know what I'm doing wrong :( now the server wont show in the server list either ^^

    Thanks in advance for help!

    //rexor
  • VitdomVitdom Join Date: 2012-04-30 Member: 151345Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Since you're sending the summitcombat map as a start parameter to the server executable manually, I think you also need to specify the mod manually. Try adding -mods "4fd7fd4" to the parameters.
  • ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Need to add the mod to the command line parameters like this:
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->D:\NS2Server\server1\Server.exe -port 27050 -name "Combat test server #1" -limit 20 -map co_summitcombat -webadmin -config_path "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT" -modstorage "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT\mods" -mods "4fd7fd4"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
  • rexorrexor Join Date: 2012-10-22 Member: 163048Members
    Thanks guys I will test this when I get home from work.

    fingers crossed!

    //rexor
  • FlyD4wnFlyD4wn Join Date: 2010-04-22 Member: 71484Members
    edited November 2012
    Its also ns2_summitcombat. not co_summitcombat, change that in your command line since your now trying to load a non-existing map

    So it should be:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->D:\NS2Server\server1\Server.exe -port 27050 -name "Combat test server #1" -limit 20 -map ns2_summitcombat -webadmin -config_path "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT" -modstorage "D:\NS2Server\server1\configCOMBAT\mods" -mods "4fd7fd4"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
Sign In or Register to comment.