Mapping Help

LeapusLeapus Join Date: 2012-08-06 Member: 154856Members
<div class="IPBDescription">I'm a noob mapper, be patient with me please. =D</div>I'm working on my first map, and I'm running into problems with faces not creating as I want them to. Is there any way to select points and just create a face inside them?

For those interested, the idea I'm running with in this map is a kind of tug-of-war style layout. Mains at opposite ends of the map with 1-3 TP's in between the two.

Comments

• AngeluszAngelusz Harmonic entropist Join Date: 2003-07-10 Member: 18072Members, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester
    Yes there is. The best way would be to use the line tool to create the shape you desire. When the outline is done, select it all and go to edit - create face. A face will appear. If it's on the wrong side, you can flip it.

I recommend you to watch FMPONE and Mendasp their youtube videos about NS2 mapping, there's a lot of good info in there.
  • LeapusLeapus Join Date: 2012-08-06 Member: 154856Members
    Hmm, I see the tools in the edit menu it just doesn't seem to be working for this group. I'll keep working on it.
    Thanks a bunch.
  • AngeluszAngelusz Harmonic entropist Join Date: 2003-07-10 Member: 18072Members, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester
    If you're having trouble creating things as a whole, try creating sections at a time. For instance start with a wall. When it's done, leave it and start on the ceiling/floor. When all parts are done, align them and then finalize them to blend in well.
    edited August 2012
    Well I had a room already set up, but I'm trying to take part of one wall out to make a hallway to the next room. To do this I used the Line tool and just made points where I wanted to cut, then but. But this removed the faces on both sides of the hole. Now I've managed to get one side back with the Rectangle tool but the other side isn't cooperating.