Last used weapon Key

topiconstopicons Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145316Members
PLs, add a binding for last used weapon ASAP, i think you should fix:
- Spawncamping on eggs on the hive.
- Fades and Gorges overpowered. (this will be fixed when welders and heavy armors come out i think)
«1

Comments

  • autograderautograder Join Date: 2011-06-24 Member: 106181Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1903975:date=Feb 16 2012, 07:59 PM:name=topicons)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (topicons @ Feb 16 2012, 07:59 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1903975"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec--><ul><li>Last used weapon key (q)</li></ul><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    +1
    I will upvote this once a day
  • WilsonWilson Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 72867Members
    I think there is an option for this in fsfod's menumod.
  • YotopiaYotopia Join Date: 2010-11-22 Member: 75176Members
    +1 !

    This is standard in every mp/x game...wonder why this isnt aviable since aplha...
  • Tool8Tool8 Join Date: 2012-01-01 Member: 139405Members
    +1 for Q = last used weapon.
  • Yes, this is DogYes, this is Dog Join Date: 2012-01-16 Member: 140781Members
    Been waiting for a while for this to be implemented in the game!
  • JuCCiJuCCi Join Date: 2011-08-08 Member: 114961Members, NS2 Map Tester
  • LuKeLuKe Join Date: 2011-11-05 Member: 131316Members
    Or just a button to toggle primary + secondary weapon. Doesn't necessarily have to be q, I prefer to use mouse4 for example.
  • GrissiGrissi Join Date: 2003-08-28 Member: 20314Members, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=1903975:date=Feb 16 2012, 07:59 PM:name=topicons)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (topicons @ Feb 16 2012, 07:59 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1903975"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->PLs, add a binding for last used weapon ASAP, i think you should fix:
    - Spawncamping on eggs on the hive.
    - Fades and Gorges overpowered. (this will be fixed when welders and heavy armors come out i think)<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Would love to see this and more options added, like 1 button to ask for med/ammo. Also the ability to cue up on server so you don't have to refresh allot to join a server.
    I however understand this is not a priority but would be to see if it does not take much time to add.


    About the spawn camping on eggs, I understand that it is annoying but the aliens should be able to prevent marines from entering the base, infestation gives aliens vision right away when they enter their area and aliens have the mobility to react. This should mean that your team has lost and marines are killing your hive. Would be kinda hard to win games if you could not prevent alien from spawning.
    --

    I don't see gorges being overpowered but maybe fades, mainly in numbers though. A single fade is easy to deal with but when they start to group up it gets really hard to focus 1 fade down. Also blink spam wastes allot of ammo for marines.
    I think fades should have full sized hitboxes while blinking, it will still be hard to hit them since they disappear from sight but can still be blocked/killed if they are low enough(you might have to buff their hp for that change).

    Also I would add the fademod mechanic competitive players are using for fades, makes them faster and more fun to play, even though its littler harder its more rewarding.
    This however might be a discussion for another post.
  • rhombusrhombus Lerk Queen Join Date: 2011-06-23 Member: 106055Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    I would love(xover9000) a key like this. Would make switching between lerk spikes and spore so much easier.
  • kingmobkingmob Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3650Members, Constellation
    +1
    I use this functionality in every FPS that supports it.

    Q = lastinv
  • culpritculprit Join Date: 2005-01-07 Member: 33527Members, Constellation
    lastweaponused is TOO OVERPOWARD!!!



    jk

    don't QQ too much =P
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    But I've got taunt bound to Q :(
  • MkilbrideMkilbride Join Date: 2010-01-07 Member: 69952Members
    Lol.

    I can't tell you how many times I died hitting Q...no matter how many times, I know it won't do anything, I still try lol.
  • JitterzJitterz Join Date: 2011-12-22 Member: 138845Members
    1 and 2 are right above Q
  • RokiyoRokiyo A.K.A. .::FeX::. Revenge Join Date: 2002-10-10 Member: 1471Members, Constellation
    edited February 2012
    Ok, it's a quick and dirty hack-job, but the weapon keys are now all toggles between the selected weapon and your primary weapon (so rebind your favourite weapon slot to Q and you'll sorta have your lastweapon toggle back)
    <ul><li>If you're not holding your pistol, pressing 2 brings out your pistol</li><li>If you are holding your pistol, pressing 2 brings out your primary weapon.</li></ul>I've done this for all 5 weapon slots.

    To use it, replace Steam\steamapps\common\natural selection 2\ns2\lua\Player.lua with the file inside this zip:
    [attachment=36061:Player.zip]
    Added the following on line 57:<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->Player.kLastWeapon = 1<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    Modified function Player:HandleButtons(input) at line 2269:<!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->    // Weapon switch
        if not self:GetIsCommander() then
            local weaponNum
        
            if bit.band(input.commands, Move.Weapon1) ~= 0 then
                self:SwitchWeapon(1)
                Player.kLastButton = 1
            end
                  
            if bit.band(input.commands, Move.Weapon2) ~= 0 then
                if (Player.kLastButton == 2) then weaponNum = 1 else weaponNum = 2 end
                
                self:SwitchWeapon(weaponNum)
                Player.kLastButton = weaponNum
            end
            
            if bit.band(input.commands, Move.Weapon3) ~= 0 then
                if (Player.kLastButton == 3) then weaponNum = 1 else weaponNum = 3 end
                
                self:SwitchWeapon(weaponNum)
                Player.kLastButton = weaponNum
            end
            
            if bit.band(input.commands, Move.Weapon4) ~= 0 then
                if (Player.kLastButton == 4) then weaponNum = 1 else weaponNum = 4 end
                
                self:SwitchWeapon(weaponNum)
                Player.kLastButton = weaponNum
            end
            
            if bit.band(input.commands, Move.Weapon5) ~= 0 then
                if (Player.kLastButton == 5) then weaponNum = 1 else weaponNum = 5 end
                
                self:SwitchWeapon(weaponNum)
                Player.kLastButton = weaponNum
            end
            
        end<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
  • SkieSkie Skulk Progenitor Join Date: 2003-10-18 Member: 21766Members, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--quoteo(post=1904374:date=Feb 18 2012, 12:19 AM:name=Jitterz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Jitterz @ Feb 18 2012, 12:19 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1904374"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->1 and 2 are right above Q<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    ^

    Are your fingers too short or something guys?
  • RokiyoRokiyo A.K.A. .::FeX::. Revenge Join Date: 2002-10-10 Member: 1471Members, Constellation
    I think it's more about being able to push the one button to rapidly toggle between two weapons.
  • comp_comp_ Join Date: 2011-06-27 Member: 106656Members
    Once you get used to using good binds lastinv is so useless... Haven't used it in years.
    Anyway, can't deny it's a standard feature in most fps now, and many people still use it (mostly those that haven't given their config much thought).
  • cryptcrypt Join Date: 2004-04-22 Member: 28091Members, Constellation
    I'd like to be able to bind my mousewheel again :(
  • autograderautograder Join Date: 2011-06-24 Member: 106181Members
    +1 for Q = last used weapon.
  • CodeineCodeine Join Date: 2010-11-22 Member: 75155Members
    you can set this in the menumod mod, its pretty useful and has alot of other features aswell like auto joining server if its full.
  • assbdaassbda Join Date: 2011-05-02 Member: 96737Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1904545:date=Feb 19 2012, 12:08 AM:name=Skie)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Skie @ Feb 19 2012, 12:08 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1904545"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->^

    Are your fingers too short or something guys?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Ive got real long fingers but pressing 1 and 2 still require a complete shift of my hand, which i feel a bit uncomfortable doing in the heat of combat

    +1q
  • autograderautograder Join Date: 2011-06-24 Member: 106181Members
    +1 for Q = last used weapon.
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited February 2012
    Well, once the new menu and stuff goes in, the devs will probably have a look at this. Should be easy to implement :)
  • 1dominator11dominator1 Join Date: 2010-11-19 Member: 75011Members
    +1 Why have 3 keys when you can have 2?
  • Delta1Delta1 Join Date: 2009-08-01 Member: 68326Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    +1
    like i said in the suggestions thread its the little things...
  • PsiWarpPsiWarp Gifted Gorge Richmond, B.C., Canada Join Date: 2010-08-28 Member: 73810Members
    Aw, I use Q for crouching since E is taken :<

    But +1 for last weapon key anyway, totally useful!
  • autograderautograder Join Date: 2011-06-24 Member: 106181Members
    +1 for Q = last used weapon
  • DeKayDeKay Join Date: 2009-06-08 Member: 67752Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1904263:date=Feb 17 2012, 04:04 PM:name=JuCCi-PuCCi)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (JuCCi-PuCCi @ Feb 17 2012, 04:04 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1904263"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->+1 +Q<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    #!
  • PapayasPapayas Join Date: 2010-07-01 Member: 72219Members
    edited February 2012
    To be honest, Q wouldn't be that useful because it takes ages to switch from Rifle to Pistol anyway.
Sign In or Register to comment.