Your feedback on our tweets here

Comments

• IeptBarakatIeptBarakat The most difficult name to speak ingame. Join Date: 2009-07-10 Member: 68107Members, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin-twitter+--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (twitter)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Max and Simon made some big sound optimizations yesterday resulting in something like 400MB less memory usage!<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

Sweet.
    With this and the occlusion rework, it sounds like I can set the game back to high again!
  • Heroman117Heroman117 Join Date: 2010-07-28 Member: 73268Members
    edited October 2011
    Maybe i'm not tech savvy but doesn't that just mean that the game now uses less memory on the hard drive? not actually make the game run smoother?

EDIT: even if its just less memory, smaller patches is always a plus
  • IeptBarakatIeptBarakat The most difficult name to speak ingame. Join Date: 2009-07-10 Member: 68107Members, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited October 2011
    <!--quoteo(post=1882383:date=Oct 27 2011, 05:18 PM:name=Heroman117)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Heroman117 @ Oct 27 2011, 05:18 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1882383"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Maybe i'm not tech savvy but doesn't that just mean that the game now uses less memory on the hard drive? not actually make the game run smoother?

EDIT: even if its just less memory, smaller patches is always a plus<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

In that case wouldn't it use a smaller amount of memory as well? As the sound files sent to the ram wouldn't be as large.

Ah well.
  • Chris0132Chris0132 Join Date: 2009-07-25 Member: 68262Members
    400mb less memory is... impressive to say the least.
  • TomDTomD Join Date: 2010-07-31 Member: 73393Members