Tutorial On Clip Brushes?

Jon_HimselfJon_Himself Join Date: 2002-11-16 Member: 8977Members
I know this sounds dumb but.. can anyone tell me how "cover an object with clip brush" or give me a clip tutorial site?

Do you have to add another solid or something?

Comments

  • AngelAngel Join Date: 2002-07-09 Member: 902Members
    MY example will be a railing:

    Brush out the railing and texture it to your pleasing with a texture that begins with a '{', Example = {catrail-a
    Then click the brush, select EDIT then PROPERTIES (Or ALT+ENTER).
    Choose these options:
    CLASS: FUNC_ILLUSIONARY
    RENDERMODE : SOLID
    FXAMOUNT: 255


    Now make a brush the exact same dimensions as the railing you have just created but this time change the texture to 'clip', then put this in the exact same place as the railing brush.

    EXTRA NOTES :

    1) The above was an example, it allows marines to shoot through the railings.
    2) Adding the 'to world' tag onto a noclip may or may not saver r_speeds. Someone told me it does, someone told me it doesn't.
  • Jon_HimselfJon_Himself Join Date: 2002-11-16 Member: 8977Members
    ...Does this mean I have to make a clip brush for ALL parts of the railings

    _________________
    |x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|

    x would equal the spacings..
    and I have to make a separate brush for each line?
  • ZaziZazi Join Date: 2002-05-26 Member: 672Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    My advice is to use clip brushes where players cannot go. Saves on clipnodes quite nicely. My example is my marine spawn with the panel removed from the floor and the pipes exposed. I filled the entire pipe area all the way up until the floor, so the player cannot go down there and get stuck in the pipes. Doing this saved me a few clip nodes which is neglible right now, but in the long run, will prove very useful.

    Fill an area that would be used for ambience, for example an area outside a window onlooking an inaccessible room, with a solid clipbrush. Clipnodes are your enemy. Keep them as small as possible. I would then tell you to crush them, but since clipnodes are also your friend...
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    <!--QuoteBegin--Jon Himself+Dec 15 2002, 02:33 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Jon Himself @ Dec 15 2002, 02:33 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->...Does this mean I have to make a clip brush for ALL parts of the railings

    _________________
    |x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|x|

    x would equal the spacings..
    and I have to make a separate brush for each line?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Nah!

    The whole set of railings is made from one brush the blue bits in { textures are transparent when those textures are used on entities with rendermode solid.

    A better example might be...

    I have a wall, it is covered with lots of small brushes to resemble complex pipework. The gaps in the pipe work are physically too small for a player to fit in, but players could get caught up on them as they walk past. The areas between the pipe details are automaticaly filled with 'clipnodes', these allow players to (poytentialy) enter that space. Brushes covered in the CLIP texture are completely invisible but block player movement. By enclosing all my pipe details in a brush textured with CLIP I can prevent the compiler from creating all the little clipnodes between my pipe detail brushes. This means players won't get caught up on the pipe details anymore and reduces the load on HL.

    The reason you might want to use this technique with a railing is that if you use func_wall you will have gaps you can see through but not shoot through. When you try to shoot through the gaps your bullets hit the func_wall instead of going through the gaps. By using func_illusionary (which is not solid in-game) and a clip brush (which you can't walk through) You get a railing with gaps you can see through, shoot through but cannot walk through.
  • kompokompo Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7639Members
    remember that skulks can't climb a clip brush.

    btw here's an offtopic question:
    does ns support trigger_gravity? didn't seem to work, maybe i did something wrong <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    and is trigger_push possible to make go up?
    i'm quite sure i made the right configuration but doens't seem to work.
  • evoLvingeviLevoLvingeviL Join Date: 2002-11-08 Member: 7802Members
    Trigger_push should be able to push you up, yes. As for trigger_gravity, if its in the FGD, it should work. I can't see why it would be removed from the mod code. I managed to get both to work for CS, I'll test them out in NS later.

    Also, I have a question! Yes, I do!

    Instead of clip brushes, do func_wall entities get rid of excess clipnodes?

    That way skulks can climb up the area. Why can't it be made so that skulks can climb CLIPs? It might be a good idea.

    Its sometimes annoying having to make so many entities in an NS map... especially with the entity limit, and the fact that entities cause increasing lag when the map is being played.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    edited December 2002
    There is a bunch of entities that were borked by Flayra when he was trying things out to get commander mode working, I guess some of them still are. I have started building some test maps so I can find out what is and isn't working. I'll post the results in the mapping forum (and quickstart guide) when i'm done.

    I would guess that func_walls don't get rid of the execess clipnodes, because they are entities can be changed (read moved) and if they are moved the space they were in would need to be passble (part of a clipnode).

    I guess that skulks wall climbing is based on wpolys that make up the walls rather than the clipnodes. CLIP brushes don't have any wpolys (all faces removed during compilation) so skulks can't climb them.

    I'm making a lot of educated <i>guesses</i> in some very technical terratory here, but if anybody <i>knows</i> better i'd be glad to learn. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • MuntyMunty Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2972Members, Constellation
    I think hera uses a trigger_gravity in the easter egg room, so the gravity entity should work...
  • kompokompo Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7639Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Munty+Dec 15 2002, 05:47 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Munty @ Dec 15 2002, 05:47 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I think hera uses a trigger_gravity in the easter egg room, so the gravity entity should work...<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I was wondering that.
    Just couldn't get it work right.
  • MouseMouse The Lighter Side of Pessimism Join Date: 2002-03-02 Member: 263Members, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--Munty+Dec 16 2002, 09:47 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Munty @ Dec 16 2002, 09:47 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I think hera uses a trigger_gravity in the easter egg room, so the gravity entity should work...<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Actually Merkaba used a trigger_push to get the low gravity in the easter egg room, you can tell this because when you jump up it's all jerky.

    I think the trigger_gravity is borked currently. I seem to recall it being borked in the pre realease mapping builds of ns (which would explain why Merkaba used a trigger_push instead of a trigger_graity in the easter egg room)
  • MerkabaMerkaba Digital Harmony Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 22Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester
    Actually, I used a trigger_push siomply because to have a trigger_gravity in there, I would also need to have trigger_gravity entites at all the spawn points in the map. (Or else players could end up playing in low grav.)
Sign In or Register to comment.