Performance questions

MOOtantMOOtant Join Date: 2010-06-25 Member: 72158Members
0. Is there screenshot command or anything to help dumping the view of 'profile' trace?
1. Is bone (anim) setup done for each entity each frame? 'profile' trace seems to suggest so and on rockdown with some structures (120 entities total I think) it was 10ms per frame.
2. PhysXEngine::WaitForResults - 10ms. Do traces / physics sim really take that much?
3. D3DOcclusionQuery::GetResult. 'profile' trace says it was called 15000 times (that frame I guess) while r_stats says ~10. Is counter not reset or what? I know that draw + occlusion query is basic op in NHC++ but I don't think there are 15000 geometry pieces to query per frame. It took 15ms.
4. D3D::PresentSurface (sim thread) - 10ms. Not sure what it is. Called few times.

Overall render thread frame took 25ms and sim thread's 65ms. I have Phenom X4, 4GB RAM, NV GTX 260, res 1440x900, detail medium, shadows on. All on rockdown 6 vs 6 most of the time.

Comments

  • PlasmaPlasma Join Date: 2003-04-26 Member: 15855Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    Good thoughts, would be interested to know myself whether these are problems, only because it would be nice if they were unknown bugs that got fixed! :)
  • PseudoKnightPseudoKnight Join Date: 2002-06-18 Member: 791Members
    edited January 2011
    EDIT: I get it now. Nm.
  • syprosypro Join Date: 2009-10-31 Member: 69195Members
    edited January 2011
    So if you calculate that into 1 second, does that make up the FPS ? I know nothing about coding im just trying to find some logic in the stuff you wrote. If this is the case i would like to know how you do it because i would like to compare to my own system.
  • MOOtantMOOtant Join Date: 2010-06-25 Member: 72158Members
    FPS_count = 1000 ms / frame_time. So if frame takes 60 ms to render you have ~30 FPS, 30 ms -> 60 FPS and so on.

    NS2 uses game/sim thread and render thread so render thread probably uses data computed frame ago by sim thread. But if render takes 30 ms and sim 60 ms you can't skip simulated frame you have to wait 30 ms with rendering it so your FPS is determined by slower thread (whichever it is).
  • syprosypro Join Date: 2009-10-31 Member: 69195Members
    So that is what you and others mean by CPU limited ? Intresting.
Sign In or Register to comment.