Piracy concerns

Skyforger2Skyforger2 Join Date: 2007-10-19 Member: 62681Members
<div class="IPBDescription">How they gona stop that</div>So i come from poor Post-Soviet country. I live in uk now and preordered the SE in first day it was available. But i started playing ns1 on cracked server and cracked client. There is only one server in my country.
I spoke with one of the main admins on that server about ns2. I asked him do they think to lunch ns2 server. And he said only if there will be cracked version. I was quite upset about that.
I said him that game cost only 20$ and he said : yes but the ns1 costs the same (to buy hl1) and only some 10 people have it. And that was a good point.
<b>So what you will do in case of piracy ? </b>

Comments

• MegahaloMegahalo Join Date: 2005-01-06 Member: 33009Members
    There isn't much that they can do against piracy, it's just way to rampant to stop. But keep in mind that any cracked version will only be able to play on cracked servers and it will take a while for hackers to develop these since NS2 runs on its own independent engine. If you are wondering how Unknown Worlds will respond as a company to pirates? Not totally sure what they can do.
  • schkorpioschkorpio I can mspaint Join Date: 2003-05-23 Member: 16635Members
    edited July 2009
    there are always going to be pirates but, i think anti piracy is quite easy - and i think ns2 has got the two factors which will definitely help

1. Make the game actually worth buying - the game has to be good the whole way through, not just 1 or two cool bits and the rest boring.
    Put in something that makes the game awesome when played online - basically because of the MP only factor you can't really play offline anyway
    (and im fairly confident ns2 will have this)

2.Make it cheap - at $20 why wouldn't you buy?

3. the other option is that servers must have some kind of extra authentication to the master server - so only legit servers can be run