Crash attempting to evaluate 'self'

leehickeyleehickey Join Date: 2008-06-17 Member: 64466Members
Using the latest build, 1.10 (1028) I often get a crash. It happens when I hit a breakpoint then point the mouse at a part of a line containing 'self' such as:

function panel:Update()
if self._someValue then
-- do something
end
end

Pointing the cursor at the 'self' seemingly kicks off some iterator causing a hang. If I manually kill the app that I'm debugging, Decoda comes back to life with an error message along the lines of:

An exception has been caught:
invalid key to 'next'

Comments

  • solidyangsolidyang Join Date: 2008-07-15 Member: 64630Members
    Also crash attempting to evaluate some key words, like 'local' <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/asrifle.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="::asrifle::" border="0" alt="asrifle.gif" /> 'function'...
  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer
    Thanks for the report.
  • leehickeyleehickey Join Date: 2008-06-17 Member: 64466Members
    Any news? An option to 'not' auto-evaluate on mouse-over would be a useful work-around until you track it down.
  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer
    <!--quoteo(post=1684130:date=Jul 21 2008, 03:31 AM:name=leehickey)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(leehickey @ Jul 21 2008, 03:31 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1684130"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Any news? An option to 'not' auto-evaluate on mouse-over would be a useful work-around until you track it down.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I haven't been able to reproduce this problem yet. I'm still working on it though.
  • BrianWeedBrianWeed Join Date: 2008-03-26 Member: 63969Members
    I'm also getting a crash when attempting to evaluate 'self'. I assumed it has something to do the fact that I have modified the lua structures: lua_Debug, and Proto to include some new function information that our tools read. The crash goes away when I back out my changes. I assume that Decoda works by assuming the size and, and layout of those structures. Its possible the original poster has also modified Lua in such a manor.

    I would like to know more about how Decoda uses these structures, since I need to have extra fields in both lua_Debug, and Proto for my own tools.
    Would it be possible for UnknownWorlds to add some setting where I can override the size of these structures, so that Decoda can ignore my custom data?

    Thanks

    Brian
  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer
    <!--quoteo(post=1689160:date=Sep 30 2008, 01:29 PM:name=BrianWeed)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(BrianWeed @ Sep 30 2008, 01:29 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1689160"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I'm also getting a crash when attempting to evaluate 'self'. I assumed it has something to do the fact that I have modified the lua structures: lua_Debug, and Proto to include some new function information that our tools read. The crash goes away when I back out my changes. I assume that Decoda works by assuming the size and, and layout of those structures. Its possible the original poster has also modified Lua in such a manor.

    I would like to know more about how Decoda uses these structures, since I need to have extra fields in both lua_Debug, and Proto for my own tools.
    Would it be possible for UnknownWorlds to add some setting where I can override the size of these structures, so that Decoda can ignore my custom data?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Yes, Decoda will have issues if lua_Debug does not match the vanilla definition.

    Generally when something like this has come up with a modification of Lua, my recommendation has been to preserve the existing Lua interface and add new functions to handle the additional data. For example, creating a lua_Debug_ex structure with the additional fields and lua_getinfo_ex that accepts the modified structure.

    Allowing the application to override the expected size of the lua_Debug structure would work, but let me look into some other ways of handling this.
  • BrianWeedBrianWeed Join Date: 2008-03-26 Member: 63969Members
    Ok, I changed my solution so that I can get the debug information I need without modifying lua_Debug. I do still have a modified Proto, but hopefully that won't conflict with Decoda.

    My crash is now gone.

    Thanks.

    Brian
  • leehickeyleehickey Join Date: 2008-06-17 Member: 64466Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1684161:date=Jul 21 2008, 06:03 PM:name=Max)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Max @ Jul 21 2008, 06:03 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1684161"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I haven't been able to reproduce this problem yet. I'm still working on it though.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Any news yet? It's been a while <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile-fix.gif" />

    I haven't used Decode much since buying it, mainly due to this issue, but each time I have a niggly little bug I want to sort out I end up running into this. I'm more than happy to try and help fix this issue as it's driving me potty. You can contact me off-list if you want me to help out in any way.
Sign In or Register to comment.